Rock of the Arts

... all indie, all the time

Mesa Amplifiers available at Cascio Interstate Music
Home Reviews

Watch The Replacements at Riot Fest in Chicago

The Replacements at Riot Fest
Tommy Stinson and Paul Westerberg

The rock gods gave a rain reprieve for the Replacements reunion show Sunday night at Riot Fest in Chicago. This was the second of three planned reunion gigs this year giving rise to rumors that a full blown tour and new album may be in the works.

Seeing as the Replacements played Madison on a regular basis back in their heyday and Paul Westerberg's wife, Laurie, is originally from here, we thought a sampling of crowd-shot videos would be fitting for a band that lived the DIY punk ethic to the max.

Last Updated ( Friday, 11 July 2014 06:43 ) Read more...
 

Break out the black lights, Ty Segall is all FUZZ

FUZZ

Just when you thought it was safe for no new Ty Segall material, the creative guitarist surprises you. No slowing down for this guy. With axe or drumsticks in hand and an open recording studio, Ty is ready and able to lengthen his incredible body of work. Even the indie PR people have trouble keeping track of all the solo, band and side projects.

Last Updated ( Saturday, 21 September 2013 21:12 ) Read more...
 

Do we really need National Cassette Store Day?



Please god....No! it can't be possible. Rewind, fast forward, unraveling strings of magnetically coated plastic tape. The cassette is back!

Read more...
 

Someone Still Loves You Boris Yeltsin conquers Russia

Someone Still Loves You Boris Yeltsin

The members of Someone Still Loves You Boris Yeltsin finally get some payback for naming their band after a Russian diplomat. A State Department sanctioned trip to Russia inspired a documentary and a new album from the group. We get the scoop straight from the SSLYBY camp in a press release that sounds more like a reality show.

Read more...
 
Page 10 of 37

Rock of the Arts

Club Crawl

MisterWives
w/ BØRNS,
Handsome Ghost
High Noon Saloon
Wed, March 4 (sold out!)

Paper Diamond
w/ gLAdiator,
Louis Futon
Majestic Theatre
Wed, March 4

Reverend Horton Heat
w/ Ha Ha Tonka
High Noon Saloon
Fri, March 6

Lust for Youth
w/ Samantha Glass
Memorial Union
Fri, March 6 (Free!)

The Hussy,
Obnox,
Dumb Beach,
Proud Parents
Crystal Corner Bar
Sat, March 7
 
Vundabar
w/ The Shones
& The Great Duck War
Memorial Union
Sat, March 7 (Free!)

Helmet "Betty"
20th Anniversary Show
High Noon Saloon
Thur, March 12 (sold out!)

Swervedriver
w/ Gateway Drugs
High Noon Saloon
Fri, March 13

John Statz
w/ Kelsy Sprague,
Evan Murdock
Crystal Corner Bar
Sat, March 14

The King Khan & BBQ Show w/ Milk Lines, Cowboy Winter
High Noon Saloon
Sun, March 15

Alabama Shakes
w/ Promised Land Sound
Overture Hall
Tues, March 17

Filligar
w/ Catch Kid
High Noon Saloon
Wed, March 18

CURSIVE
w/ Dylan Ryan Sand,
See Through Dresses
High Noon Saloon
Thurs, March 19

Tyranny Is Tyranny
w/ Knife the Symphony
& the Shanks
Mickey's Tavern
Fri, March 20 (Free!)

TV on the Radio
w/ Nostalghia
Pabst Theater
Tues, March 24

THE RASHITA JONESES w/ Filter Free Rodeo, Bron Sage, Spaceship Parts
The Frequency
Fri, March 27, 9:00 PM

CYMBALS EAT GUITARS
w/ Split Single
The Frequency
Mon, March 30

Bleachers
w/ Joywave,
Night Terrors of 1927
Majestic Theatre
Tue, March 31

Belle and Sebastian
w/ Honeyblood
Overture Hall
Sat, Apr 4

Ultimate Painting
w/ Heaters
The Frequency
Mon, April 6

Polica
w/ Pony Bwoy
Cactus Club (Milw)
Tues, April 7 (sold out!)

FOXYGEN
w/ Alex Cameron
The Sett - Union South
Fri, April 10 (Free!)

Joe Pug
w/ Field Report (solo)
High Noon Saloon
Fri, April 10

Reptar
w/ Icky Blossoms
The Frequency
Fri, April 10

Dolores
w/ Mutts,
Cowboy Winter
& Little Legend
High Noon Saloon
Sat, April 11

Twin Shadow
w/ Erik Hassle
Majestic Theatre
Tue, April 14

Kodak to Graph
w/ Big Wild,
Obeson
The Frequency
Wed, April 15

Chuck Prophet
& The Mission Express
High Noon Saloon
Wed, April 15

Shana Falana (NYC), 
w/ Modern Mod,
Oh My Love
Mickey's tavern
Thu, April 16 (Free!)

The Soft Moon
w/ TBA
The Frequency
Fri, April 17

PELE
w/ Golden Donna
Cactus Club (Milw)
Sat, April 18

Diarrhea Planet
w/ Lee Bains
& the Glory Fires,
Fire Retarded
High Noon Saloon
Wed, April 22

Hiss Golden Messenger
w/ Phil Cook (Megafaun)
High Noon Saloon
Thu, April 23 

Max Jury
w/ SALES
The Frequency
Thu, April 23 

JAMES MCMURTRY
w/ Max Gomez
High Noon Saloon
Friday, April 24

Lord Huron
w/ Leon Bridges
Pabst Theater
Sat, April 25

Caroline Smith
w/ Vic and Gab
High Noon Saloon
Sat, April 25

Rhiannon Giddens
w/ Bhi Bhiman
Capitol Theater
Mon, April 27

Hurray For The
Riff Raff
w/ Daniel Romano
High Noon Saloon
Thu, April 30

Speedy Ortiz
w/ Krill, 
Two Inch Astronaut
The Frequency
Fri, May 1

The Replacements
w/ TBA
Eagles Ballroom (Milw)
Sat, May 2

Bop English
(from White Denim)
w/ TBA
The Frequency
Fri, May 8

Dan Deacon
w/ Prince Rama,
Ben O’Brien
High Noon Saloon
Fri, May 15

METZ and FIDLAR
High Noon Saloon
Sat, May 23

ST. VINCENT
w/ Sarah Neufeld
of Arcade Fire
Orpheum Theater
Tue, May 26

Built to Spill
w/ Wooden Indian
Burial Ground
High Noon Saloon
Tue, May 26
 
Royal Blood
w/ Mini Mansions
High Noon Saloon
Sun, May 31

Eaux Claires
Music & Arts Festival

feat. Bon Iver,
The National, Spoon, Sufjan Stevens
+ more
Foster Farms - Eau Claire
July 17 & 18

Syndication

feed-image Feed Entries

Connect with us

 twitterFacebookYouTubeInstagrampinterest

Sound Board

     Launch Indie Music Player Pop-Up

SXSW

Mumford & Sons

Music News Round-up

Merlyns
Alex Chilton
O'Cayz Corral