Rock of the Arts

... all indie, all the time

Mesa Amplifiers available at Cascio Interstate Music
Home Reviews

Waxahatchee, Screaming Females, Tenement celebrate label's anniversary

Don Giovanni Records

Don Giovanni Records, an independent record label specializing in punk rock from New Brunswick, NJ and the surrounding area, is celebrating their tenth anniversary with a fall tour featuring Waxahatchee, Screaming Females and Tenement. Each year the label puts on the Don Giovanni Records Showcase, most recently held at the The Bowery Ballroom in New York City.

Last Updated ( Saturday, 28 September 2013 13:54 ) Read more...
 

Dustin Wong - guitar pedal looping on steroids

Dustin Wong

Dustin Wong, experimental guitarist and former member of art-rock band Ponytail has just released a new video “Speeding Feathers Staring.” The manic guitar loops and layered textures showcase Wong’s new Thrill Jockey album, Mediation of Ecstatic Energy. Just in time for his show at the Good Style Shop in Madison tonight (Sept 21)

Last Updated ( Sunday, 22 September 2013 14:04 ) Read more...
 

Watch The Replacements at Riot Fest in Chicago

The Replacements at Riot Fest
Tommy Stinson and Paul Westerberg

The rock gods gave a rain reprieve for the Replacements reunion show Sunday night at Riot Fest in Chicago. This was the second of three planned reunion gigs this year giving rise to rumors that a full blown tour and new album may be in the works.

Seeing as the Replacements played Madison on a regular basis back in their heyday and Paul Westerberg's wife, Laurie, is originally from here, we thought a sampling of crowd-shot videos would be fitting for a band that lived the DIY punk ethic to the max.

Last Updated ( Monday, 09 March 2015 20:51 ) Read more...
 

Break out the black lights, Ty Segall is all FUZZ

FUZZ

Just when you thought it was safe for no new Ty Segall material, the creative guitarist surprises you. No slowing down for this guy. With axe or drumsticks in hand and an open recording studio, Ty is ready and able to lengthen his incredible body of work. Even the indie PR people have trouble keeping track of all the solo, band and side projects.

Last Updated ( Saturday, 21 September 2013 21:12 ) Read more...
 
Page 10 of 38

Rock of the Arts

Club Crawl

CYMBALS EAT GUITARS
w/ Split Single,
Julian Lynch
The Frequency
Mon, March 30

Bleachers
w/ Joywave,
Night Terrors of 1927
Majestic Theatre
Tue, March 31

Belle and Sebastian
w/ Honeyblood
Capitol Theater (venue change)
Sat, April 4

The Pines
w/ Hayward Williams
High Noon Saloon
Sat, April 4

Ultimate Painting
w/ Heaters
The Frequency
Mon, April 6

Polica
w/ Pony Bwoy
Cactus Club (Milw)
Tues, April 7 (sold out!)

FOXYGEN
w/ Alex Cameron
The Sett - Union South
Fri, April 10 (Free!)

Joe Pug
w/ Field Report (solo)
High Noon Saloon
Fri, April 10

Reptar
w/ Icky Blossoms
The Frequency
Fri, April 10

Dolores
w/ Mutts,
Cowboy Winter
& Little Legend
High Noon Saloon
Sat, April 11

Mr. Gnome
w/ Bron Sage
The Frequency
Sat, April 11

Twin Shadow
w/ Erik Hassle
Majestic Theatre
Tue, April 14

Kodak to Graph
w/ Big Wild,
Obeson
The Frequency
Wed, April 15

Chuck Prophet
& The Mission Express
w/ Nick Brown
High Noon Saloon
Wed, April 15

Shana Falana (NYC), 
w/ Modern Mod,
Oh My Love
Mickey's tavern
Thu, April 16 (Free!)

The Soft Moon
w/ Noveller
The Frequency
Fri, April 17

PELE
w/ Golden Donna
Cactus Club (Milw)
Sat, April 18

Diarrhea Planet
w/ Lee Bains
& the Glory Fires,
Fire Retarded
High Noon Saloon
Wed, April 22

Six Organs of
Admittance
w/ Elisa Ambrosia
The Frequency
Wed, April 22

Sufjan Stevens
w/ Little Scream
Riverside Theater
Thu, April 23

Hiss Golden Messenger
w/ Phil Cook (Megafaun)
High Noon Saloon
Thu, April 23 

Max Jury
w/ SALES,
Bonzie
The Frequency
Thu, April 23 

JAMES MCMURTRY
w/ Max Gomez
High Noon Saloon
Friday, April 24

Lord Huron
w/ Leon Bridges
Pabst Theater
Sat, April 25

Caroline Smith
w/ Vic and Gab
High Noon Saloon
Sat, April 25

Rhiannon Giddens
w/ Bhi Bhiman
Capitol Theater
Mon, April 27

Hurray For The
Riff Raff
w/ Daniel Romano
High Noon Saloon
Thu, April 30

Speedy Ortiz
w/ Krill, 
Two Inch Astronaut
The Frequency
Fri, May 1

The Replacements
w/ TBA
Eagles Ballroom (Milw)
Sat, May 2

Revelry Fest
w/ Chance the Rapper,
The Chainsmokers,
Alunageorge, Mick Jenkins,
Nick Hakim + More!
Library Mall
Sat, May 2 

Death Cab for Cutie
w/ The Antlers
Riverside Theater
Mon, May 4

Vetiver
w/ Eric D. Johnson
The Frequency
Thu, May 7

Bop English
(from White Denim)
w/ TBA
The Frequency
Fri, May 8

Pianos Become The Teeth
w/ Loma Prieta,
Gates
Cactus Club (Milw)
Fri, May 8

Tame Impala
w/ Mini Mansions
Riverside Theater
Thu, May 14

Dan Deacon
w/ Prince Rama,
Ben O’Brien
High Noon Saloon
Fri, May 15

METZ and FIDLAR
High Noon Saloon
Sat, May 23

Surfer Blood
w/ TBA
The Frequency
Sun, May 24

ST. VINCENT
w/ Sarah Neufeld
of Arcade Fire
Orpheum Theater
Tue, May 26

Built to Spill
w/ Wooden Indian
Burial Ground
High Noon Saloon
Tue, May 26

Archie Powell
& The Exports
w/ Heavy Looks,
Little Legend
The Frequency
Fri, May 29
 
Royal Blood
w/ Mini Mansions
High Noon Saloon
Sun, May 31

Father John Misty
w/ TBA
Pabst Theater
Sun, May 31

CJ Ramone 
& Shonen Knife
w/ TBA
Cactus Club (Milw)
Tues, June 9

Kate Tempest
w/ TBA
High Noon Saloon
Mon, Jun 15

Iceage
w/ Low Life
High Noon Saloon
Sun, Jun 21

Eaux Claires
Music & Arts Festival

feat. Bon Iver,
The National, Spoon, Sufjan Stevens
+ more
Foster Farms - Eau Claire
July 17 & 18

Syndication

feed-image Feed Entries

Connect with us

 twitterFacebookYouTubeInstagrampinterest

Sound Board

     Launch Indie Music Player Pop-Up

Foxygen

Revelry

Mumford & Sons

Music News Round-up

Merlyns
Alex Chilton
O'Cayz Corral