Rock of the Arts

... all indie, all the time

Mesa Amplifiers available at Cascio Interstate Music
Home Reviews

Interview: Mysterious Canadian band The Tallest Tree - I'll Be Your (For You)

The Tallest Tree

We've become friends with a young married couple, Dawn and Armando, whose band The Tallest Tree is out of Dundas, Ontario, Canada. For those of you who are geographically challenged that's near Hamilton just south of Toronto. Their first single "Boat" gained immediate positive response from our readers for its hummable grooves. Picked up by a host of online music outlets, the song has started a groundswell that is hard to explain.

Well, we just received a new song and video from our Canadian vagabonds and it's stunning. Recorded with a minimalistic approach, I'll Be Your (For You) is simple but powerful. A haunting melody that just keeps you wanting more. We managed to track down Dawn and Armando for a few questions. 

Read more...
 

Har Mar Superstar hits the road with Macaulay Culkin's The Pizza Underground?

Har Mar Superstar

Our friends over at Brooklyn Vegan alerted us to one of the more unusual artist pairings this fall. Obviously, a booking agent's great idea. The Twin Cities' bowling ball of slap-happy soul revues Har Mar Superstar and Macaulay Culkin's pizza-themed Velvet Underground cover band, The Pizza Underground, join forces for a double whammy of something.

Read more...
 

Ty Segall unleashes Manipulator

Ty Segall
Photo by Denee Petracek

The ever prolific Ty Segall has a new album called Manipulator coming out on Drag City. With over 60 minutes of pure Ty spread over 17 tracks, Manipulator makes up for the past year without any new Segall music. This is easily one of Ty's more diverse records. A growth journey through exploration of new sound landscapes, but never far from a wailing guitar.

Read more...
 

From Russia with love: Sunday Store - Low Direction

Sunday Store

The Russians are coming! Sergey Savin of Saint Petersburg, Russia dropped this nugget of psychedelic wonderment known as Sunday Store on us. Hipsters do exist in the land of Putin, no matter what Fox News says. This directly from Sergey;

Read more...
 
Page 5 of 38

Rock of the Arts

Club Crawl

CYMBALS EAT GUITARS
w/ Split Single,
Julian Lynch
The Frequency
Mon, March 30

Bleachers
w/ Joywave,
Night Terrors of 1927
Majestic Theatre
Tue, March 31

Belle and Sebastian
w/ Honeyblood
Capitol Theater (venue change)
Sat, April 4

The Pines
w/ Hayward Williams
High Noon Saloon
Sat, April 4

Ultimate Painting
w/ Heaters
The Frequency
Mon, April 6

Polica
w/ Pony Bwoy
Cactus Club (Milw)
Tues, April 7 (sold out!)

FOXYGEN
w/ Alex Cameron
The Sett - Union South
Fri, April 10 (Free!)

Joe Pug
w/ Field Report (solo)
High Noon Saloon
Fri, April 10

Reptar
w/ Icky Blossoms
The Frequency
Fri, April 10

Dolores
w/ Mutts,
Cowboy Winter
& Little Legend
High Noon Saloon
Sat, April 11

Mr. Gnome
w/ Bron Sage
The Frequency
Sat, April 11

Twin Shadow
w/ Erik Hassle
Majestic Theatre
Tue, April 14

Kodak to Graph
w/ Big Wild,
Obeson
The Frequency
Wed, April 15

Chuck Prophet
& The Mission Express
w/ Nick Brown
High Noon Saloon
Wed, April 15

Shana Falana (NYC), 
w/ Modern Mod,
Oh My Love
Mickey's tavern
Thu, April 16 (Free!)

The Soft Moon
w/ Noveller
The Frequency
Fri, April 17

PELE
w/ Golden Donna
Cactus Club (Milw)
Sat, April 18

Diarrhea Planet
w/ Lee Bains
& the Glory Fires,
Fire Retarded
High Noon Saloon
Wed, April 22

Six Organs of
Admittance
w/ Elisa Ambrosia
The Frequency
Wed, April 22

Sufjan Stevens
w/ Little Scream
Riverside Theater
Thu, April 23

Hiss Golden Messenger
w/ Phil Cook (Megafaun)
High Noon Saloon
Thu, April 23 

Max Jury
w/ SALES,
Bonzie
The Frequency
Thu, April 23 

JAMES MCMURTRY
w/ Max Gomez
High Noon Saloon
Friday, April 24

Lord Huron
w/ Leon Bridges
Pabst Theater
Sat, April 25

Caroline Smith
w/ Vic and Gab
High Noon Saloon
Sat, April 25

Rhiannon Giddens
w/ Bhi Bhiman
Capitol Theater
Mon, April 27

Hurray For The
Riff Raff
w/ Daniel Romano
High Noon Saloon
Thu, April 30

Speedy Ortiz
w/ Krill, 
Two Inch Astronaut
The Frequency
Fri, May 1

The Replacements
w/ TBA
Eagles Ballroom (Milw)
Sat, May 2

Revelry Fest
w/ Chance the Rapper,
The Chainsmokers,
Alunageorge, Mick Jenkins,
Nick Hakim + More!
Library Mall
Sat, May 2 

Death Cab for Cutie
w/ The Antlers
Riverside Theater
Mon, May 4

Vetiver
w/ Eric D. Johnson
The Frequency
Thu, May 7

Bop English
(from White Denim)
w/ TBA
The Frequency
Fri, May 8

Pianos Become The Teeth
w/ Loma Prieta,
Gates
Cactus Club (Milw)
Fri, May 8

Tame Impala
w/ Mini Mansions
Riverside Theater
Thu, May 14

Dan Deacon
w/ Prince Rama,
Ben O’Brien
High Noon Saloon
Fri, May 15

METZ and FIDLAR
High Noon Saloon
Sat, May 23

Surfer Blood
w/ TBA
The Frequency
Sun, May 24

ST. VINCENT
w/ Sarah Neufeld
of Arcade Fire
Orpheum Theater
Tue, May 26

Built to Spill
w/ Wooden Indian
Burial Ground
High Noon Saloon
Tue, May 26

Archie Powell
& The Exports
w/ Heavy Looks,
Little Legend
The Frequency
Fri, May 29
 
Royal Blood
w/ Mini Mansions
High Noon Saloon
Sun, May 31

Father John Misty
w/ TBA
Pabst Theater
Sun, May 31

CJ Ramone 
& Shonen Knife
w/ TBA
Cactus Club (Milw)
Tues, June 9

Kate Tempest
w/ TBA
High Noon Saloon
Mon, Jun 15

Iceage
w/ Low Life
High Noon Saloon
Sun, Jun 21

Eaux Claires
Music & Arts Festival

feat. Bon Iver,
The National, Spoon, Sufjan Stevens
+ more
Foster Farms - Eau Claire
July 17 & 18

Syndication

feed-image Feed Entries

Connect with us

 twitterFacebookYouTubeInstagrampinterest

Sound Board

     Launch Indie Music Player Pop-Up

Foxygen

Revelry

Mumford & Sons

Music News Round-up

Merlyns
Alex Chilton
O'Cayz Corral