Rock of the Arts

... all indie, all the time

Mesa Amplifiers available at Cascio Interstate Music
Home Reviews

Peter Matthew Bauer of The Walkmen seeks Liberation!

Peter Matthew Bauer
Peter Matthew Bauer and company

Peter Matthew Bauer, founding member of seminal New York band The Walkmen, is on tour in support of his debut solo album Liberation!. After 13 years with The Walkmen he's venturing out on his own and discovering new territory along the way.

Read more...
 

Sylvan Esso does the hanky panky

Sylvan Esso

Sylvan Esso have become the chosen ones for 2014.  Every year one lucky band cuts through all the Internet noise and delivers a track that instantly captures the imagination of music fans. The song Coffee with it's seemingly disparate combination of sparse electronic overtones and simple lyrics transforms into something that is undeniably catchy and different at the same time.

Last Updated ( Monday, 11 August 2014 18:45 ) Read more...
 

Rock of the Arts - top ten songs of 2013

top ten

We make fun of top ten lists, but had to throw our two-cents worth into the pot. Our top ten songs of 2013 based on Rock of the Arts' count of Sound Board plays on the site during the year. We crunched the numbers and out popped this list. Our audience wasn't quite as enamored with Haim, Lorde and Chvrches as some of the more mainstream online music outlets. Rock of the Arts' readers tend to lean more eclectic and adventurous. 

Read more...
 

Morrissey covers Lou Reed and releases new book

Morrissey

Like most of us, Morrissey is a huge Lou Reed fan. The man who forged art and rock into new directions and has become known as the godfather of avant-garde independent music gets his due from Morrissey with a live cover of Satellite of Love.

Read more...
 
Page 5 of 35

Rock of the Arts

Club Crawl

Justin Townes Earle
w/ American Aquarium
Barrymore Theatre
Wed, Sept. 24

Brett Dennen
Watercolors: A Special
Acoustic Evening
w/ Odessa
Majestic Theatre
Wed, Sept. 24

Carolina Chocolate Drops
Stoughton Opera House
Show # 1
Thurs, Sept. 25
 
Carolina Chocolate Drops
Stoughton Opera House
Show # 2
Fri, Sept. 26

Twin Peaks
w/ NE-HI, The Liqs
& Varsity
The Frequency
Fri, Sept. 26

Panda Bear
w/ Blues Control
Majestic Theatre
Sat, Sept. 27

Tim & Eric
w/ Dr. Steve Brule
Barrymore Theatre
Sat, Sept. 27 (sold-out!)

Rubblebucket
w/ Body Language
High Noon Saloon
Sun, Sept. 28

Drowners
w/ Bully
The Frequency
Sun, Sept. 28

Mutual Benefit
w/ Ricky Eat Acid
and Double Ewes
The Frequency
Mon, Sept. 29

JOEY BADA$$
B4.DA.$$ North American Tour With special guests 
Pro Era artists: CJ Fly, Kirk Knight & Nyck Caution
And local Madison MCs: Sincere Life and Tre Money
Wed, Oct. 1

The Wood Brothers
w/ Chris Kasper
Stoughton Opera House
Thur, Oct. 2

Maps & Atlases
w/ TBA
The Frequency
Fri, Oct. 3

SLOW MAGIC w/ Kodak to Graph, Daktyl
 The Frequency
 Sat, Oct. 4

Shovels & Rope
w/ John Fulbright
Barrymore Theater
Sun, Oct. 5

Of Montreal
w/ Pillar Point
Majestic Theatre
Sun, Oct. 5

PAWS (Glasgow)
w/ Total Slacker
and Flashlights
Der Rathskeller
Fri, Oct. 10 (Free!)

Surfer Blood
w/ We are Scientists
& Eternal Summers
The Sett - Union South
Fri, Oct. 10 (Free!)

Pixies
w/ Royal Blood
Orpheum Theater
Sun, Oct. 12

S. Carey
w/ Vic & Gab
Majestic Theatre
Tues, Oct. 14

Delta Spirit
w/ Sacco
Barrymore Theater
Wed,, Oct. 15

Communion Showcase:
w/ Field Report,
Water Liars,
The Whigs
The Frequency
Wed, Oct. 15

Meat Puppets
& Cass McCombs
High Noon Saloon
Wed, Oct. 22

Dum Dum Girls
w/ Ex Cops
High Noon Saloon
Thur, Oct. 23

POND
w/ Doctopus
High Noon Saloon
Fri. Oct 24

We Were Promised Jet Packs
w/ The Twilight Sad
Majestic Theatre
Sat. Oct. 25

Freakfest
w/ Atmosphere
American Authors,
The Mowgli's,
Generationals + More
State Street
Sat, Nov 1

Syndication

feed-image Feed Entries

Connect with us

 twitterFacebookYouTubeInstagrampinterest

Sound Board

     Launch Indie Music Player Pop-Up

Music News Round-up

Merlyns

O'Cayz Corral