Rock of the Arts

... all indie, all the time

Mesa Amplifiers available at Cascio Interstate Music
Home Reviews Listen to Sat. Nite Duets 7-inch split with Fatty Acids, Radical Dads & Dinosaur Feathers

Listen to Sat. Nite Duets 7-inch split with Fatty Acids, Radical Dads & Dinosaur Feathers

torrential zen ep

Everyone’s favorite Wisconsin slackers, Sat. Nite Duets, are  sharing a four-way 7-inch split with fellow Milwaukeeans Fatty Acids along with New York’s Radical Dads and Dinosaur Feathers. The four-song EP is titled  “Torrential Zen.” Drummer Joe Guszkowski of Sat. Nite Duets  gave us the low down on the project.

How did the idea for the four-song split come about?

We really liked the other three bands on the split with us and thought it'd be a cool thing to do together. You don't see a lot of four-way splits. We also thought it would be a good way to bridge the gap between Milwaukee and NYC and bring those scenes together.

Any plans for a tour with the four bands together?

All four bands touring together would be really really cool but it's sort of logistically out of the question. We were trying to get them over here for the Milwaukee release show on November 10 but couldn't make it happen.

What's the story line behind Conjugal Visit?

Ben wrote that song, and he described it recently as "a post-collegiate banger that addresses topical themes (e.g. the recession & what it's like to get fired by your girlfriend)." But really we all know it's about how Ben was conceived in a prison cell.

Sat Nite Duets has had quite a year touring. Any advice for Wisconsin indie bands on the road?

Stock up on sunflower seeds. Highly recommend Bigs dill pickle flavor.

Brooklyn connection

Brooklyn indie label and art collective Uninhabitable Mansions are behind the effort and offer their take on the collaboration.

“This slab of 7-inch vinyl epitomizes the longstanding Milwaukee-Brooklyn rivalry, and pits The Fatty Acids and Sat. Nite Duets (Brew City) against Dinosaur Feathers and Radical Dads (Land of Bands and Locally Harvested Honey).”

The digital version is available for a pay-what-you-want on Bandcamp here.

Track list:

Side A

1. Unscreened by The Fatty Acids

2. Conjugal Visit by Sat. Nite Duets

Side B

3. New Frontier by Dinosaur Feathers

4. Holidays Underwater by Radical Dads

 

Rock of the Arts

Club Crawl

Tedeschi Trucks Band
w/ The Sharrows
Orpheum Theater
Sat, March 28

CYMBALS EAT GUITARS
w/ Split Single,
Julian Lynch
The Frequency
Mon, March 30

Bleachers
w/ Joywave,
Night Terrors of 1927
Majestic Theatre
Tue, March 31

Belle and Sebastian
w/ Honeyblood
Overture Hall
Sat, April 4

The Pines
w/ Hayward Williams
High Noon Saloon
Sat, April 4

Ultimate Painting
w/ Heaters
The Frequency
Mon, April 6

Polica
w/ Pony Bwoy
Cactus Club (Milw)
Tues, April 7 (sold out!)

FOXYGEN
w/ Alex Cameron
The Sett - Union South
Fri, April 10 (Free!)

Joe Pug
w/ Field Report (solo)
High Noon Saloon
Fri, April 10

Reptar
w/ Icky Blossoms
The Frequency
Fri, April 10

Dolores
w/ Mutts,
Cowboy Winter
& Little Legend
High Noon Saloon
Sat, April 11

Mr. Gnome
w/ Bron Sage
The Frequency
Sat, April 11

Twin Shadow
w/ Erik Hassle
Majestic Theatre
Tue, April 14

Kodak to Graph
w/ Big Wild,
Obeson
The Frequency
Wed, April 15

Chuck Prophet
& The Mission Express
w/ Nick Brown
High Noon Saloon
Wed, April 15

Shana Falana (NYC), 
w/ Modern Mod,
Oh My Love
Mickey's tavern
Thu, April 16 (Free!)

The Soft Moon
w/ Noveller
The Frequency
Fri, April 17

PELE
w/ Golden Donna
Cactus Club (Milw)
Sat, April 18

Diarrhea Planet
w/ Lee Bains
& the Glory Fires,
Fire Retarded
High Noon Saloon
Wed, April 22

Six Organs of
Admittance
w/ Elisa Ambrosia
The Frequency
Wed, April 22

Sufjan Stevens
w/ Little Scream
Riverside Theater
Thu, April 23

Hiss Golden Messenger
w/ Phil Cook (Megafaun)
High Noon Saloon
Thu, April 23 

Max Jury
w/ SALES,
Bonzie
The Frequency
Thu, April 23 

JAMES MCMURTRY
w/ Max Gomez
High Noon Saloon
Friday, April 24

Lord Huron
w/ Leon Bridges
Pabst Theater
Sat, April 25

Caroline Smith
w/ Vic and Gab
High Noon Saloon
Sat, April 25

Rhiannon Giddens
w/ Bhi Bhiman
Capitol Theater
Mon, April 27

Hurray For The
Riff Raff
w/ Daniel Romano
High Noon Saloon
Thu, April 30

Speedy Ortiz
w/ Krill, 
Two Inch Astronaut
The Frequency
Fri, May 1

The Replacements
w/ TBA
Eagles Ballroom (Milw)
Sat, May 2

Revelry Fest
w/ Chance the Rapper,
The Chainsmokers,
Alunageorge, Mick Jenkins,
Nick Hakim + More!
Library Mall
Sat, May 2 

Death Cab for Cutie
w/ The Antlers
Riverside Theater
Mon, May 4

Vetiver
w/ Eric D. Johnson
The Frequency
Thu, May 7

Bop English
(from White Denim)
w/ TBA
The Frequency
Fri, May 8

Pianos Become The Teeth
w/ Loma Prieta,
Gates
Cactus Club (Milw)
Fri, May 8

Tame Impala
w/ Mini Mansions
Riverside Theater
Thu, May 14

Dan Deacon
w/ Prince Rama,
Ben O’Brien
High Noon Saloon
Fri, May 15

METZ and FIDLAR
High Noon Saloon
Sat, May 23

Surfer Blood
w/ TBA
The Frequency
Sun, May 24

ST. VINCENT
w/ Sarah Neufeld
of Arcade Fire
Orpheum Theater
Tue, May 26

Built to Spill
w/ Wooden Indian
Burial Ground
High Noon Saloon
Tue, May 26

Archie Powell
& The Exports
w/ Heavy Looks,
Little Legend
The Frequency
Fri, May 29
 
Royal Blood
w/ Mini Mansions
High Noon Saloon
Sun, May 31

Father John Misty
w/ TBA
Pabst Theater
Sun, May 31

CJ Ramone 
& Shonen Knife
w/ TBA
Cactus Club (Milw)
Tues, June 9

Kate Tempest
w/ TBA
High Noon Saloon
Mon, Jun 15

Iceage
w/ Low Life
High Noon Saloon
Sun, Jun 21

Eaux Claires
Music & Arts Festival

feat. Bon Iver,
The National, Spoon, Sufjan Stevens
+ more
Foster Farms - Eau Claire
July 17 & 18

Connect with us

 twitterFacebookYouTubeInstagrampinterest

Sound Board

     Launch Indie Music Player Pop-Up

Foxygen

Revelry

Mumford & Sons

Music News Round-up

Merlyns
Alex Chilton
O'Cayz Corral