Rock of the Arts

... all indie, all the time

Mesa Amplifiers available at Cascio Interstate Music
Home Reviews Listen to Sat. Nite Duets 7-inch split with Fatty Acids, Radical Dads & Dinosaur Feathers

Listen to Sat. Nite Duets 7-inch split with Fatty Acids, Radical Dads & Dinosaur Feathers

torrential zen ep

Everyone’s favorite Wisconsin slackers, Sat. Nite Duets, are  sharing a four-way 7-inch split with fellow Milwaukeeans Fatty Acids along with New York’s Radical Dads and Dinosaur Feathers. The four-song EP is titled  “Torrential Zen.” Drummer Joe Guszkowski of Sat. Nite Duets  gave us the low down on the project.

How did the idea for the four-song split come about?

We really liked the other three bands on the split with us and thought it'd be a cool thing to do together. You don't see a lot of four-way splits. We also thought it would be a good way to bridge the gap between Milwaukee and NYC and bring those scenes together.

Any plans for a tour with the four bands together?

All four bands touring together would be really really cool but it's sort of logistically out of the question. We were trying to get them over here for the Milwaukee release show on November 10 but couldn't make it happen.

What's the story line behind Conjugal Visit?

Ben wrote that song, and he described it recently as "a post-collegiate banger that addresses topical themes (e.g. the recession & what it's like to get fired by your girlfriend)." But really we all know it's about how Ben was conceived in a prison cell.

Sat Nite Duets has had quite a year touring. Any advice for Wisconsin indie bands on the road?

Stock up on sunflower seeds. Highly recommend Bigs dill pickle flavor.

Brooklyn connection

Brooklyn indie label and art collective Uninhabitable Mansions are behind the effort and offer their take on the collaboration.

“This slab of 7-inch vinyl epitomizes the longstanding Milwaukee-Brooklyn rivalry, and pits The Fatty Acids and Sat. Nite Duets (Brew City) against Dinosaur Feathers and Radical Dads (Land of Bands and Locally Harvested Honey).”

The digital version is available for a pay-what-you-want on Bandcamp here.

Track list:

Side A

1. Unscreened by The Fatty Acids

2. Conjugal Visit by Sat. Nite Duets

Side B

3. New Frontier by Dinosaur Feathers

4. Holidays Underwater by Radical Dads

 

Rock of the Arts

Club Crawl

Lotus
w/ Turbo Suit
Orpheum Theater
Fri, Feb. 27

Echo Island
w/ Donny & the Robot
Memorial Union
Fri, Feb 27 (free!)

Klassik (Hip Hop),
w/ Sean Anonymous.
OYE! & Rich Robbins
Memorial Union
Sat, Feb. 28 (free!)

MisterWives
w/ BØRNS,
Handsome Ghost
High Noon Saloon
Wed, March 4 (sold out!)

Paper Diamond
w/ gLAdiator,
Louis Futon
Majestic Theatre
Wed, March 4

Reverend Horton Heat
w/ Ha Ha Tonka
High Noon Saloon
Fri, March 6

Lust for Youth
w/ TBA
Memorial Union
Fri, March 6 (Free!)

Helmet "Betty"
20th Anniversary Show
High Noon Saloon
Thur, March 12 (sold out!)

Swervedriver
w/ Gateway Drugs
High Noon Saloon
Fri, March 13

The King Khan & BBQ Show w/ Milk Lines, Cowboy Winter
High Noon Saloon
Sun, March 15

Alabama Shakes
w/ Promised Land Sound
Overture Hall
Tues, March 17

Filligar
w/ TBA
High Noon Saloon
Wed, March 18

CURSIVE
w/ Dylan Ryan Sand,
See Through Dresses
High Noon Saloon
Thurs, March 19

TV on the Radio
w/ Nostalghia
Pabst Theater
Tues, March 24

THE RASHITA JONESES w/ Filter Free Rodeo, Bron Sage, Spaceship Parts
The Frequency
Fri, March 27, 9:00 PM

CYMBALS EAT GUITARS
w/ Split Single
The Frequency
Mon, March 30

Bleachers
w/ Joywave,
Night Terrors of 1927
Majestic Theatre
Tue, March 31

Belle and Sebastian
w/ Honeyblood
Overture Hall
Sat, Apr 4

Ultimate Painting
w/ Heaters
The Frequency
Mon, April 6

Polica
w/ PonyBwoy
Cactus Club (Milw)
Tues, April 7 (sold out!)

FOXYGEN
w/ Alex Cameron
The Sett - Union South
Fri, April 10 (Free!)

Joe Pug
w/ Field Report (solo)
High Noon Saloon
Fri, April 10

Reptar
w/ Icky Blossoms
The Frequency
Fri, Apr 10

Twin Shadow
w/ Erik Hassle
Majestic Theatre
Tue, April 14

Kodak to Graph
w/ Big Wild,
Obeson
The Frequency
Wed, April 15

Chuck Prophet
& The Mission Express
High Noon Saloon
Wed, April 15

The Soft Moon
w/ TBA
The Frequency
Fri, April 17

PELE
w/ Golden Donna
Cactus Club (Milw)
Sat, April 18

Diarrhea Planet
w/ Lee Bains
& the Glory Fires,
Fire Retarded
High Noon Saloon
Wed, April 22 

Max Jury
w/ SALES
The Frequency
Thu, April 23 

JAMES MCMURTRY
High Noon Saloon
Friday, April 24

Lord Huron
w/ Leon Bridges
Pabst Theater
Sat, April 25

Caroline Smith
w/ Vic and Gab
High Noon Saloon
Sat, April 25

Rhiannon Giddens
w/ Bhi Bhiman
Capitol Theater
Mon, April 27

Hurray For The
Riff Raff
w/ Daniel Romano
High Noon Saloon
Thu, April 30

Speedy Ortiz
w/ Krill, 
Two Inch Astronaut
The Frequency
Fri, May 1

The Replacements
w/ TBA
Eagles Ballroom (Milw)
Sat, May 2

Dan Deacon
w/ TBA
High Noon Saloon
Fri, May 15

METZ and FIDLAR
High Noon Saloon
Sat, May 23

ST. VINCENT
w/ Sarah Neufeld
of Arcade Fire
Orpheum Theater
Tue, May 26
 
Royal Blood
w/ Mini Mansions
High Noon Saloon
Sun, May 31

Eaux Claires
Music & Arts Festival

feat. Bon Iver,
The National, Spoon, Sufjan Stevens
+ more
Foster Farms - Eau Claire
July 17 & 18

Connect with us

 twitterFacebookYouTubeInstagrampinterest

Sound Board

     Launch Indie Music Player Pop-Up

SXSW

Music News Round-up

Merlyns
Alex Chilton
O'Cayz Corral