Rock of the Arts

... all indie, all the time

Home Reviews Listen to Sat. Nite Duets 7-inch split with Fatty Acids, Radical Dads & Dinosaur Feathers

Listen to Sat. Nite Duets 7-inch split with Fatty Acids, Radical Dads & Dinosaur Feathers

torrential zen ep

Everyone’s favorite Wisconsin slackers, Sat. Nite Duets, are  sharing a four-way 7-inch split with fellow Milwaukeeans Fatty Acids along with New York’s Radical Dads and Dinosaur Feathers. The four-song EP is titled  “Torrential Zen.” Drummer Joe Guszkowski of Sat. Nite Duets  gave us the low down on the project.

How did the idea for the four-song split come about?

We really liked the other three bands on the split with us and thought it'd be a cool thing to do together. You don't see a lot of four-way splits. We also thought it would be a good way to bridge the gap between Milwaukee and NYC and bring those scenes together.

Any plans for a tour with the four bands together?

All four bands touring together would be really really cool but it's sort of logistically out of the question. We were trying to get them over here for the Milwaukee release show on November 10 but couldn't make it happen.

What's the story line behind Conjugal Visit?

Ben wrote that song, and he described it recently as "a post-collegiate banger that addresses topical themes (e.g. the recession & what it's like to get fired by your girlfriend)." But really we all know it's about how Ben was conceived in a prison cell.

Sat Nite Duets has had quite a year touring. Any advice for Wisconsin indie bands on the road?

Stock up on sunflower seeds. Highly recommend Bigs dill pickle flavor.

Brooklyn connection

Brooklyn indie label and art collective Uninhabitable Mansions are behind the effort and offer their take on the collaboration.

“This slab of 7-inch vinyl epitomizes the longstanding Milwaukee-Brooklyn rivalry, and pits The Fatty Acids and Sat. Nite Duets (Brew City) against Dinosaur Feathers and Radical Dads (Land of Bands and Locally Harvested Honey).”

The digital version is available for a pay-what-you-want on Bandcamp here.

Track list:

Side A

1. Unscreened by The Fatty Acids

2. Conjugal Visit by Sat. Nite Duets

Side B

3. New Frontier by Dinosaur Feathers

4. Holidays Underwater by Radical Dads


Rock of the Arts

Club Crawl

Shitty Barn (Spring Green)
Wed, Oct. 7 (sold out!)

S (Jenn Ghetto)
w/ Fern Mayo,
The Frequency
Thurs,Oct. 8

Saint Motel
w/ The Greeting Committee
High Noon Saloon
Thurs, Oct. 8

Hyperslob and the Goat Meat Explosion,
w/ Transformer Lootbag, Novagolde
Mickey's Tavern
Fri, Oct. 9 (Free!)

w/ Yacht Club,
Dense City
@ Liquid
Fri, Oct. 9

Titus Andronicus
w/ Spider Bags, Baked
The Frequency
Sat, Oct 10 (sold out)

w/ Heavy Looks
Mickey's Tavern
Sat, Oct. 10 (Free!)

w/ Heat,
Fake Limbs
The Frequency
Sun, Oct. 11

w/ Geographer
Majestic Theatre
Sun, Oct. 11

Sonny Vincent
w/ Zine Vetro
Mickey's Tavern
Mon, Oct. 12 (Free!)

w/ No Joy,
Sunflower Bean
Majestic Theatre
Tue, Oct. 13

w/ Trophy Dad
and Tarpaulin
The Sett-Union South
Wed, Oct. 14 (Free!)

Conor Oberst
w/ Larkin, Poe
& High Up
Barrymore Theatre
Fri, Oct. 16

Electric Six
w/ Yip Deceiver
High Noon Saloon
Sat, Oct. 17

Teen Daze
w/ Heavenly Beat,
Double Ewes
The Frequency
Sat, Oct. 17
w/ Torres
Orpheum Theater
Sun, Oct. 18
Youth Lagoon
w/ Moon King
Turner Hall (Milw)
Tues, Oct. 20

Neon Indian
w/ TBA
Majestic Theatre
Wed, Oct. 21

Midnight Reruns
w/ Heavy Looks,
Mickey's Tavern
Thur, Oct. 22 (Free!)

Grace Potter
w/ Rayland Baxter
Barrymore Theatre
Sat, Oct. 24

w/ Amanda X
Cactus Club (Milw)
Sat, Oct. 24
Of Montreal
w/ Diane Coffee
Majestic Theatre
Sun, Oct. 25

w/ Zebras,
Jon Mueller
High Noon Saloon
Sun, Oct. 25
w/ TBA
Majestic Theatre
Mon, Oct. 26
Shannon & the Clams
w/ Shopping, Orange Iguanas, The Pukes
The Frequency
Tue, Oct. 27

Wild Child
w/ Elliot Moss
Majestic Theatre
Wed, Oct. 28
w/ Say Hi,
Barbara Hans
The Frequency
Thu, Oct. 29

Dave Rawlings Machine
Capitol Theater
Fri, Oct. 30
Barrymore Theatre
Fri, Oct. 30

Mac DeMarco
w/ Alex Calder
& The Courtneys
Riverside Theater (Milw)
Fri, Nov. 6

Yo La Tengo (Acoustic)
feat. Dave Schramm
Barrymore Theatre
Fri, Nov. 6

w/ Cougar
Capitol Theater
Sat, Nov. 7

Drive-By Truckers
w/ Dexateens
Majestic Theatre
Sun, Nov. 15

w/ Car Seat Headrest
Trohpy Dad
The Frequency
Sat, Nov. 28

w/ Atlas Sound
Majestic Theatre
Tue, Dec. 15

Connect with us


Bandcamp Pick!

Sound Board

     Launch Indie Music Player Pop-Up

Russ Feingold

Music News Round-up

Alex Chilton
O'Cayz Corral