Rock of the Arts

... all indie, all the time

SXSW

Home Reviews Listen to Sat. Nite Duets 7-inch split with Fatty Acids, Radical Dads & Dinosaur Feathers

Listen to Sat. Nite Duets 7-inch split with Fatty Acids, Radical Dads & Dinosaur Feathers

torrential zen ep

Everyone’s favorite Wisconsin slackers, Sat. Nite Duets, are  sharing a four-way 7-inch split with fellow Milwaukeeans Fatty Acids along with New York’s Radical Dads and Dinosaur Feathers. The four-song EP is titled  “Torrential Zen.” Drummer Joe Guszkowski of Sat. Nite Duets  gave us the low down on the project.

How did the idea for the four-song split come about?

We really liked the other three bands on the split with us and thought it'd be a cool thing to do together. You don't see a lot of four-way splits. We also thought it would be a good way to bridge the gap between Milwaukee and NYC and bring those scenes together.

Any plans for a tour with the four bands together?

All four bands touring together would be really really cool but it's sort of logistically out of the question. We were trying to get them over here for the Milwaukee release show on November 10 but couldn't make it happen.

What's the story line behind Conjugal Visit?

Ben wrote that song, and he described it recently as "a post-collegiate banger that addresses topical themes (e.g. the recession & what it's like to get fired by your girlfriend)." But really we all know it's about how Ben was conceived in a prison cell.

Sat Nite Duets has had quite a year touring. Any advice for Wisconsin indie bands on the road?

Stock up on sunflower seeds. Highly recommend Bigs dill pickle flavor.

Brooklyn connection

Brooklyn indie label and art collective Uninhabitable Mansions are behind the effort and offer their take on the collaboration.

“This slab of 7-inch vinyl epitomizes the longstanding Milwaukee-Brooklyn rivalry, and pits The Fatty Acids and Sat. Nite Duets (Brew City) against Dinosaur Feathers and Radical Dads (Land of Bands and Locally Harvested Honey).”

The digital version is available for a pay-what-you-want on Bandcamp here.

Track list:

Side A

1. Unscreened by The Fatty Acids

2. Conjugal Visit by Sat. Nite Duets

Side B

3. New Frontier by Dinosaur Feathers

4. Holidays Underwater by Radical Dads

 

Rock of the Arts

Club Crawl

Tarpaulin
w/ Fury Things
Dash Hounds
Mickey's Tavern
Fri, Feb. 12 (Free!)

Dianne Coffee
w/ Barbara Hans
Union South - The Sett
Sat, Feb. 13 (Free!)

Metric
w/ Joywave
Orpheum Theater
Sat, Feb. 13

PROF
w/ Mike Mictlan,
Mac Irv, Crashprez
Majestic Theatre
Sat, Feb. 13

Rayland Baxter
w/ Margaret Glaspy
The Frequency
Sat, Feb. 13
 
Chris Bathgate
w/ The Go Rounds,
Anna Vogelzang
The Frequency
Sun, Feb. 14
 
The Hussy
w/ Trampoline Team,
Proud Parents
High Noon Saloon
Wed, Feb. 17

El Ten Eleven
w/ Shallow
Majestic Theatre
Thu, Feb. 18

Futurebirds
w/ Blank Range
High Noon Saloon
Thu, Feb. 18

Brett Newski
w/ Tiny Riots
The Frequency
Fri, Feb. 19

LIZZO
w/ DJ Sopia Eris
feat. Cavanaugh
Majestic Theatre
Fri, Feb. 19

Cloud Cult
w/ BBGUN
Barrymore Theatre
Sat, Feb 20 
 
Jukebox the Ghost
w/ The Family Crest
Majestic Theatre
Tues, Feb. 23

Twin Peaks
w/ Uh Bones,
The Rashita Joneses
The Frequency
Wed, Feb 24

Bongzilla
w/ Black Cobra,
Lo-Pan,
Against the Grain
High Noon Saloon
Fri, Feb 26 

Family and Friends
w/ The Wells Division
The Frequency
Fri, Feb 26

Dale Watson &
His Lone Stars
High Noon Saloon
Wed, March 2

Damsel Trash
CD Release Party!
w/ Screamin' Cyn Cyn & The Pons, Skizzwhores
The Frequency
Sat, March 5

Basia Bulat
w/ The Weather Station
High Noon Saloon
Wed, March 9

Tortoise
w/ Mind Over Mirrors
Majestic Theatre
Thu, March 10

Protomartyr
w/ Fire Retarded,
Luggage
The Frequency
Sun, March 13

Mount Moriah
w/ Elephant Micah
High Noon Saloon
Sun, March 20

CHON
w/ Polyphia,
Strawberry Girls
The Frequency
Wed, March 23

SIMO
w/ The Glorious Sons
High Noon Saloon
Thu, March 24

Cullen Omori
(ex Smith Westerns)
w/ Living Hour
High Noon Saloon
Fri, March 25

Acid Mothers Temple
w/ Mounds, Moss Folk
The Frequency
Mon, March 28

The Lone Bellow
WI Union Theater
(Shannon Hall)
Wed, March 30

Yuck
w/ Big Thief
High Noon Saloon
Tue, April 5

LUCERO
w/ John Moreland
Majestic Theatre
Wed, April 6   

SunFlower Bean
w/ TBA
The Frequency
Wed, April 6

San Fermin
w/ Esme Patterson
High Noon Saloon
Wed, April 6

Alex G & Porches
w/ Your Friend
Union South - The Sett
Thu, April 7 (Free!)

Deer Tick
(Acoustic Tour)
w/ Ryley Walker
Majestic Theatre
Fri, April 8
 
Made of Oak
(Nick Sanborn
of Sylvan Esso)
High Noon Saloon
Sat, April 9

Wolf Alice
w/ Slaves (UK)
Majestic Theatre
Sun, April 10
 
Polica
w/ Mothxr
High Noon Saloon
Thu, April 14
 
Bob Mould Band
w/ Fury Things
Majestic Theatre
Wed, April 20

Dengue Fever
High Noon Saloon
Wed, April 20
 
Woods
w/ Ultimate Painting
High Noon Saloon
Mon, April 25

Frankie Cosmos
w/ Eskimeaux,
Yowler
High Noon Saloon
Tue, April 26

Charles Bradley
& his Extraordinaires
Majestic Theatre
Sat, April 30

Connect with us

 twitterFacebookYouTubeInstagrampinterest

Twin Peaks

Lucero

Polica

The Smart Studios Story

Music News Round-up

Merlyns
Alex Chilton
O'Cayz Corral