Rock of the Arts

... all indie, all the time

Mesa Amplifiers available at Cascio Interstate Music
Home Reviews Listen to Sat. Nite Duets 7-inch split with Fatty Acids, Radical Dads & Dinosaur Feathers

Listen to Sat. Nite Duets 7-inch split with Fatty Acids, Radical Dads & Dinosaur Feathers

torrential zen ep

Everyone’s favorite Wisconsin slackers, Sat. Nite Duets, are  sharing a four-way 7-inch split with fellow Milwaukeeans Fatty Acids along with New York’s Radical Dads and Dinosaur Feathers. The four-song EP is titled  “Torrential Zen.” Drummer Joe Guszkowski of Sat. Nite Duets  gave us the low down on the project.

How did the idea for the four-song split come about?

We really liked the other three bands on the split with us and thought it'd be a cool thing to do together. You don't see a lot of four-way splits. We also thought it would be a good way to bridge the gap between Milwaukee and NYC and bring those scenes together.

Any plans for a tour with the four bands together?

All four bands touring together would be really really cool but it's sort of logistically out of the question. We were trying to get them over here for the Milwaukee release show on November 10 but couldn't make it happen.

What's the story line behind Conjugal Visit?

Ben wrote that song, and he described it recently as "a post-collegiate banger that addresses topical themes (e.g. the recession & what it's like to get fired by your girlfriend)." But really we all know it's about how Ben was conceived in a prison cell.

Sat Nite Duets has had quite a year touring. Any advice for Wisconsin indie bands on the road?

Stock up on sunflower seeds. Highly recommend Bigs dill pickle flavor.

Brooklyn connection

Brooklyn indie label and art collective Uninhabitable Mansions are behind the effort and offer their take on the collaboration.

“This slab of 7-inch vinyl epitomizes the longstanding Milwaukee-Brooklyn rivalry, and pits The Fatty Acids and Sat. Nite Duets (Brew City) against Dinosaur Feathers and Radical Dads (Land of Bands and Locally Harvested Honey).”

The digital version is available for a pay-what-you-want on Bandcamp here.

Track list:

Side A

1. Unscreened by The Fatty Acids

2. Conjugal Visit by Sat. Nite Duets

Side B

3. New Frontier by Dinosaur Feathers

4. Holidays Underwater by Radical Dads

 

Rock of the Arts

Club Crawl

Cerebral Ballzy
w/ Direct Hit
The Frequency
Tues, Sept 16

Communion Showcase:
w/ Jessica Lea Mayfield
Crash, Oh, My Love!
The Frequency
Wed, Sept. 17

Black Lips
w/ The King Khan & BBQ Show, The Hussy
High Noon Saloon
Thur, Sept. 18
 
Spoon
w/ EMA
Orpheum Theater
Thur, Sept. 18

Live on King Street
w/ The Head & the Heart,
Bare Mutants,
Count This Penny
100 block of Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd
Fri, Sept. 19 (Free!) 

Lee Fields and the Expressions
w/ Spirit Family Reunion
Majestic Theatre
Fri, Sept. 19 (Inside)

The War on Drugs
w/ Califone
Majestic Theatre
Sat, Sept. 20

Kongos
w/ Young Rising Sons
and the Sharrows
Shannon Hall - Union Theater
Sun, Sept. 21

Justin Townes Earle
w/ American Aquarium
Barrymore Theatre
Wed, Sept. 24 

Carolina Chocolate Drops
Stoughton Opera House
Show # 1
Thurs, Sept. 25
 
Carolina Chocolate Drops
Stoughton Opera House
Show # 2
Fri, Sept. 26

Twin Peaks
w/ NE-HI, The Liqs
& Varsity
The Frequency
Fri, Sept. 26

Panda Bear
w/ Blues Control
Majestic Theatre
Sat, Sept. 27

Tim & Eric
w/ Dr. Steve Brule
Barrymore Theatre
Sat, Sept. 27 (sold-out!)

Drowners
w/ Bully
The Frequency
Sun, Sept. 28

Mutual Benefit
w/ Ricky Eat Acid
and Double Ewes
The Frequency
Mon, Sept. 29

The Wood Brothers
w/ Chris Kasper
Stoughton Opera House
Thur, Oct. 2

Maps & Atlases
w/ TBA
The Frequency
Fri, Oct. 3

Shovels & Rope
w/ John Fulbright
Barrymore Theater
Sun, Oct. 5

Of Montreal
w/ Pillar Point
Majestic Theatre
Sun, Oct. 5

PAWS (Glasgow)
w/ Total Slacker
and Flashlights
Der Rathskeller
Fri, Oct. 10 (Free!)

Pixies
w/ Royal Blood
Orpheum Theater
Sun, Oct. 12

S. Carey
w/ Vic & Gab
Majestic Theatre
Tues, Oct. 14

Delta Spirit
w/ Sacco
Barrymore Theater
Wed,, Oct. 15

Communion Showcase:
w/ Field Report,
Water Liars,
The Whigs
The Frequency
Wed, Oct. 15

Meat Puppets
& Cass McCombs
High Noon Saloon
Wed, Oct. 22

Dum Dum Girls
w/ Ex Cops
High Noon Saloon
Thur, Oct. 23

POND
High Noon Saloon
Fri. Oct 24

We Were Promised Jet Packs
w/ The Twilight Sad
Majestic Theatre
Sat. Oct. 25

Connect with us

 twitterFacebookYouTubeInstagrampinterest

Sound Board

     Launch Indie Music Player Pop-Up

Music News Round-up