Rock of the Arts

... all indie, all the time

SYNC by 50 On-Ear Wireless Headphone by SMS Audio
Home Reviews Interview: Von Bondies’ Guitarist Forms The Hounds Below

Interview: Von Bondies’ Guitarist Forms The Hounds Below

After ten years leading Detroit garage rockers the Von Bondies, guitarist Jason Stollsteimer saw an opportunity to move in a completely different direction with his new band The Hounds Below.

“I’m very proud of what I did with the Von Bondies, said Jason. “But this is what I’m doing now.”

Encompassing a sparse almost fifties-like early Elvis sound with a renewed emphasis on vocals reminiscent of Roy Orbison, the Hounds Below has emerged with a distinctively refreshing approach that is miles away from the Von Bondies.

“The Hounds Below is way more crooner oriented,” said Jason. “It’s a different kind of fun. I’m not as angry in this band. Maybe a little more sad and hopeful at the same time. In my old band it was angrier. I’m not angry anymore."

This September evening was the opening show of a three week national tour showcasing new material that will come out on a full length album come January. While the band may be new, the energy created on stage is pure adrenalin straight from the Von Bondies bag of tricks. From the alt-country infused rocker “Two Steps” to the haunting ballad “Crawling Back to You”, the five piece band demonstrated the diversity of Jason’s songwriting capabilities on a rock n’ roll canvas.

After the show I got to sit down with Jason Stollsteimer and talk about the Hounds Below. He was reluctant to talk directly about the Von Bondies, referring to them only as his “old band.” 

The Hounds Below

The Hounds Below 

The Hounds Below - Crawling Back to You

The Hounds Below - Two Step

The Hounds Below - Love's No Longer Here

 

 

Rock of the Arts

Club Crawl

Sylvan Esso
w/ Dosh
Majestic Theatre
Thu, Sept. 4
 
Trampled By Turtles
w/ Hurray for the Riff Raff
Overture Hall
Fri. Sept. 5

The Midwest Beat
(Record Release)
w/ Fire Retarded, Sugar Stems, Cowboy Winter
High Noon Saloon
Fri, Sept. 5

The Dig (NYC)
w/ Vic and Gab
Memorial Union Terrace
Sat, Sept. 6 (Free!)

w/ Lee Bains III
& The Glory Fires,
Orgone, Lizzo,
Four Fists featuring
P.O.S. & Astronautalis
Madison's CENTRAL PARK
Sun, Sept. 7 (3pm - 8pm)

Joey's Song
Benefit Concert
w/ THE KNOW-IT-ALL BOYFRIENDS
Feat: Butch Vig & Duke Erikson from Garbage, Freedy Johnston
Majestic Theatre
Sun, Sept. 7

Tenement
w/ Your Pest Band,
Sanhose
Mickey's Tavern
Tues, Sept 9 (Free!)

Communion Showcase:
w/ Jessica Lea Mayfield
Crash, Oh, My Love!
The Frequency
Wed, Sept. 17

Black Lips
w/ The King Khan & BBQ Show, The Hussy
High Noon Saloon
Thur, Sept. 18
 
Spoon
w/ EMA
Orpheum Theater
Thur, Sept. 18

Live on King Street
w/ The Head & the Heart,
Bare Mutants,
Count This Penny
Majestic Theatre (outside)
Fri, Sept. 19 (Free!) 

Lee Fields and the Expressions
w/ Spirit Family Reunion
Majestic Theatre
Fri, Sept. 19 (Inside)

The War on Drugs
w/ Califone
Majestic Theatre
Sat, Sept. 20

Justin Townes Earle
w/ American Aquarium
Barrymore Theatre
Wed, Sept. 24 

Carolina Chocolate Drops
Stoughton Opera House
Show # 1
Thurs, Sept. 25
 
Carolina Chocolate Drops
Stoughton Opera House
Show #2
Fri, Sept. 26

Twin Peaks
w/ TBA
The Frequency
Fri, Sept. 26

Panda Bear
w/ Blues Control
Majestic Theatre
Sat, Sept. 27

Tim & Eric
w/ Dr. Steve Brule
Barrymore Theatre
Sat, Sept. 27

The Wood Brothers
w/ Chris Kasper
Stoughton Opera House
Thur, Oct. 2

Shovels & Rope
w/ John Fulbright
Barrymore Theater
Sun, Oct 5

PAWS (Glasgow)
w/ Total Slacker
and Flashlights
Der Rathskeller
Fri, Oct. 10 (Free!)

Delta Spirit
w/ Sacco
Barrymore Theater
Mon, Oct. 13

Meat Puppets
& Cass McCombs
High Noon Saloon
Wed, Oct. 22

Dum Dum Girls
w/ Ex Cops
High Noon Saloon
Thur, Oct. 23

POND
High Noon Saloon
Fri. Oct 24

Connect with us

 twitterFacebookYouTubeInstagrampinterest

Sound Board

     Launch Indie Music Player Pop-Up

Music News Round-up