Rock of the Arts

... all indie, all the time

SXSW

Home Reviews Interview: Von Bondies’ Guitarist Forms The Hounds Below

Interview: Von Bondies’ Guitarist Forms The Hounds Below

After ten years leading Detroit garage rockers the Von Bondies, guitarist Jason Stollsteimer saw an opportunity to move in a completely different direction with his new band The Hounds Below.

“I’m very proud of what I did with the Von Bondies, said Jason. “But this is what I’m doing now.”

Encompassing a sparse almost fifties-like early Elvis sound with a renewed emphasis on vocals reminiscent of Roy Orbison, the Hounds Below has emerged with a distinctively refreshing approach that is miles away from the Von Bondies.

“The Hounds Below is way more crooner oriented,” said Jason. “It’s a different kind of fun. I’m not as angry in this band. Maybe a little more sad and hopeful at the same time. In my old band it was angrier. I’m not angry anymore."

This September evening was the opening show of a three week national tour showcasing new material that will come out on a full length album come January. While the band may be new, the energy created on stage is pure adrenalin straight from the Von Bondies bag of tricks. From the alt-country infused rocker “Two Steps” to the haunting ballad “Crawling Back to You”, the five piece band demonstrated the diversity of Jason’s songwriting capabilities on a rock n’ roll canvas.

After the show I got to sit down with Jason Stollsteimer and talk about the Hounds Below. He was reluctant to talk directly about the Von Bondies, referring to them only as his “old band.” 

The Hounds Below

The Hounds Below 

The Hounds Below - Crawling Back to You

The Hounds Below - Two Step

The Hounds Below - Love's No Longer Here

 

 

Rock of the Arts

Club Crawl

Dianne Coffee
w/ Barbara Hans
Union South - The Sett
Sat, Feb. 13 (Free!)

Metric
w/ Joywave
Orpheum Theater
Sat, Feb. 13

PROF
w/ Mike Mictlan,
Mac Irv, Crashprez
Majestic Theatre
Sat, Feb. 13

Rayland Baxter
w/ Margaret Glaspy
The Frequency
Sat, Feb. 13
 
Chris Bathgate
w/ The Go Rounds,
Anna Vogelzang
The Frequency
Sun, Feb. 14
 
The Hussy
w/ Trampoline Team,
Proud Parents
High Noon Saloon
Wed, Feb. 17

El Ten Eleven
w/ Shallow
Majestic Theatre
Thu, Feb. 18

Futurebirds
w/ Blank Range
High Noon Saloon
Thu, Feb. 18

Brett Newski
w/ Tiny Riots
The Frequency
Fri, Feb. 19

LIZZO
w/ DJ Sopia Eris
feat. Cavanaugh
Majestic Theatre
Fri, Feb. 19

Cloud Cult
w/ BBGUN
Barrymore Theatre
Sat, Feb 20 
 
Jukebox the Ghost
w/ The Family Crest
Majestic Theatre
Tues, Feb. 23

Twin Peaks
w/ Uh Bones,
The Rashita Joneses
The Frequency
Wed, Feb 24

Bongzilla
w/ Black Cobra,
Lo-Pan,
Against the Grain
High Noon Saloon
Fri, Feb 26 

Family and Friends
w/ The Wells Division
The Frequency
Fri, Feb 26

Dale Watson &
His Lone Stars
High Noon Saloon
Wed, March 2

Damsel Trash
CD Release Party!
w/ Screamin' Cyn Cyn & The Pons, Skizzwhores
The Frequency
Sat, March 5

Basia Bulat
w/ The Weather Station
High Noon Saloon
Wed, March 9

Tortoise
w/ Mind Over Mirrors
Majestic Theatre
Thu, March 10

Protomartyr
w/ Fire Retarded,
Luggage
The Frequency
Sun, March 13

Mount Moriah
w/ Elephant Micah
High Noon Saloon
Sun, March 20

CHON
w/ Polyphia,
Strawberry Girls
The Frequency
Wed, March 23

SIMO
w/ The Glorious Sons
High Noon Saloon
Thu, March 24

Cullen Omori
(ex Smith Westerns)
w/ Living Hour
High Noon Saloon
Fri, March 25

Acid Mothers Temple
w/ Mounds, Moss Folk
The Frequency
Mon, March 28

The Lone Bellow
WI Union Theater
(Shannon Hall)
Wed, March 30

Yuck
w/ Big Thief
High Noon Saloon
Tue, April 5

LUCERO
w/ John Moreland
Majestic Theatre
Wed, April 6   

SunFlower Bean
w/ TBA
The Frequency
Wed, April 6

San Fermin
w/ Esme Patterson
High Noon Saloon
Wed, April 6

Alex G & Porches
w/ Your Friend
Union South - The Sett
Thu, April 7 (Free!)

Deer Tick
(Acoustic Tour)
w/ Ryley Walker
Majestic Theatre
Fri, April 8
 
Made of Oak
(Nick Sanborn
of Sylvan Esso)
High Noon Saloon
Sat, April 9

Wolf Alice
w/ Slaves (UK)
Majestic Theatre
Sun, April 10
 
Polica
w/ Mothxr
High Noon Saloon
Thu, April 14

Juilen Baker
w/ TBA
The Frequency
Sat, April 16
 
Bob Mould Band
w/ Fury Things
Majestic Theatre
Wed, April 20

Dengue Fever
High Noon Saloon
Wed, April 20

Beach Slang
w/ Potty Mouth,
Dyke Drama
The Frequency
Sun, April 24
 
Woods
w/ Ultimate Painting
High Noon Saloon
Mon, April 25

Frankie Cosmos
w/ Eskimeaux,
Yowler
High Noon Saloon
Tue, April 26

Charles Bradley
& his Extraordinaires
Majestic Theatre
Sat, April 30

STRFKR
w/ Com Truise,
Fake Drugs
Majestic Theatre
Sun, May 8

Connect with us

 twitterFacebookYouTubeInstagrampinterest

Twin Peaks

Lucero

Polica

The Smart Studios Story

Music News Round-up

Merlyns
Alex Chilton
O'Cayz Corral