Rock of the Arts

... all indie, all the time

Mesa Amplifiers available at Cascio Interstate Music
Home Reviews Interview: Von Bondies’ Guitarist Forms The Hounds Below

Interview: Von Bondies’ Guitarist Forms The Hounds Below

After ten years leading Detroit garage rockers the Von Bondies, guitarist Jason Stollsteimer saw an opportunity to move in a completely different direction with his new band The Hounds Below.

“I’m very proud of what I did with the Von Bondies, said Jason. “But this is what I’m doing now.”

Encompassing a sparse almost fifties-like early Elvis sound with a renewed emphasis on vocals reminiscent of Roy Orbison, the Hounds Below has emerged with a distinctively refreshing approach that is miles away from the Von Bondies.

“The Hounds Below is way more crooner oriented,” said Jason. “It’s a different kind of fun. I’m not as angry in this band. Maybe a little more sad and hopeful at the same time. In my old band it was angrier. I’m not angry anymore."

This September evening was the opening show of a three week national tour showcasing new material that will come out on a full length album come January. While the band may be new, the energy created on stage is pure adrenalin straight from the Von Bondies bag of tricks. From the alt-country infused rocker “Two Steps” to the haunting ballad “Crawling Back to You”, the five piece band demonstrated the diversity of Jason’s songwriting capabilities on a rock n’ roll canvas.

After the show I got to sit down with Jason Stollsteimer and talk about the Hounds Below. He was reluctant to talk directly about the Von Bondies, referring to them only as his “old band.” 

The Hounds Below

The Hounds Below 

The Hounds Below - Crawling Back to You

The Hounds Below - Two Step

The Hounds Below - Love's No Longer Here

 

 

Rock of the Arts

Club Crawl

The Wood Brothers
w/ Chris Kasper
Stoughton Opera House
Thur, Oct. 2

Maps & Atlases
w/ Mutts
The Frequency
Fri, Oct. 3

SLOW MAGIC w/ Kodak to Graph, Daktyl
The Frequency
Sat, Oct. 4

Shovels & Rope
w/ John Fulbright
Barrymore Theater
Sun, Oct. 5

Of Montreal
w/ Pillar Point
Majestic Theatre
Sun, Oct. 5

Mason Jennings
w/ Lucette
Stoughton Opera House
Thu, Oct. 9

Total Slacker
w/ PAWS (Glasgow)
and Flashlights
UW Memorial Union
Fri, Oct. 10 (Free!)

Surfer Blood
w/ We are Scientists
& Eternal Summers
The Sett - Union South
Fri, Oct. 10 (Free!)

Pixies
w/ Royal Blood
Orpheum Theater
Sun, Oct. 12

S. Carey
w/ Vic & Gab
Majestic Theatre
Tues, Oct. 14

Delta Spirit
w/ Sacco
Barrymore Theater
Wed,, Oct. 15

Gardens & Villa
UW Memorial Union
Fri, Oct. 17

Grayskul (Seattle)
Union South - The Sett
Sat, Oct. 18

Communion Showcase:
w/ Field Report,
Water Liars,
The Whigs
The Frequency
Wed, Oct. 15

Meat Puppets
& Cass McCombs
High Noon Saloon
Wed, Oct. 22

Dum Dum Girls
w/ Ex Cops
High Noon Saloon
Thur, Oct. 23

POND
w/ Doctopus
High Noon Saloon
Fri. Oct 24

We Were Promised Jet Packs
w/ The Twilight Sad
Majestic Theatre
Sat. Oct. 25

Freakfest
w/ Atmosphere
American Authors,
The Mowgli's,
Generationals + More
State Street
Sat, Nov 1

Flannel Fest 2014 
w/ Cory Chisel and the Wandering Sons, Daniel and The Lion, The Mascot Theory, Dead Horses, The Beth Kille Band, The Sharrows
High Noon Saloon
Sat. Nov. 8

My Brightest Diamond
w/ Dosh & Ghostband
High Noon Saloon
Fri, Nov. 14

Connect with us

 twitterFacebookYouTubeInstagrampinterest

Sound Board

     Launch Indie Music Player Pop-Up

Music News Round-up

Merlyns

O'Cayz Corral