Rock of the Arts

... all indie, all the time

Mesa Amplifiers available at Cascio Interstate Music
Home Reviews Interview: Von Bondies’ Guitarist Forms The Hounds Below

Interview: Von Bondies’ Guitarist Forms The Hounds Below

After ten years leading Detroit garage rockers the Von Bondies, guitarist Jason Stollsteimer saw an opportunity to move in a completely different direction with his new band The Hounds Below.

“I’m very proud of what I did with the Von Bondies, said Jason. “But this is what I’m doing now.”

Encompassing a sparse almost fifties-like early Elvis sound with a renewed emphasis on vocals reminiscent of Roy Orbison, the Hounds Below has emerged with a distinctively refreshing approach that is miles away from the Von Bondies.

“The Hounds Below is way more crooner oriented,” said Jason. “It’s a different kind of fun. I’m not as angry in this band. Maybe a little more sad and hopeful at the same time. In my old band it was angrier. I’m not angry anymore."

This September evening was the opening show of a three week national tour showcasing new material that will come out on a full length album come January. While the band may be new, the energy created on stage is pure adrenalin straight from the Von Bondies bag of tricks. From the alt-country infused rocker “Two Steps” to the haunting ballad “Crawling Back to You”, the five piece band demonstrated the diversity of Jason’s songwriting capabilities on a rock n’ roll canvas.

After the show I got to sit down with Jason Stollsteimer and talk about the Hounds Below. He was reluctant to talk directly about the Von Bondies, referring to them only as his “old band.” 

The Hounds Below

The Hounds Below 

The Hounds Below - Crawling Back to You

The Hounds Below - Two Step

The Hounds Below - Love's No Longer Here

 

 

Rock of the Arts

Club Crawl

Bleachers
w/ Joywave,
Night Terrors of 1927
Majestic Theatre
Tue, March 31 (sold out!)

Belle and Sebastian
w/ Honeyblood
Capitol Theater (venue change)
Sat, April 4

The Pines
w/ Hayward Williams
High Noon Saloon
Sat, April 4

Ultimate Painting
w/ Heaters
The Frequency
Mon, April 6

Polica
w/ Pony Bwoy
Cactus Club (Milw)
Tues, April 7 (sold out!)

FOXYGEN
w/ Alex Cameron
The Sett - Union South
Fri, April 10 (Free!)

Joe Pug
w/ Field Report (solo)
High Noon Saloon
Fri, April 10

Reptar
w/ Icky Blossoms
The Frequency
Fri, April 10

Dolores
w/ Mutts,
Cowboy Winter
& Little Legend
High Noon Saloon
Sat, April 11

Mr. Gnome
w/ Bron Sage
The Frequency
Sat, April 11

Twin Shadow
w/ Erik Hassle
Majestic Theatre
Tue, April 14

Kodak to Graph
w/ Big Wild,
Obeson
The Frequency
Wed, April 15

Chuck Prophet
& The Mission Express
w/ Nick Brown
High Noon Saloon
Wed, April 15

Shana Falana (NYC), 
w/ Modern Mod,
Oh My Love
Mickey's tavern
Thu, April 16 (Free!)

The Soft Moon
w/ Noveller
The Frequency
Fri, April 17

PELE
w/ Golden Donna
Cactus Club (Milw)
Sat, April 18

Diarrhea Planet
w/ Lee Bains
& the Glory Fires,
Fire Retarded
High Noon Saloon
Wed, April 22

Six Organs of
Admittance
w/ Elisa Ambrosia
The Frequency
Wed, April 22

Sufjan Stevens
w/ Little Scream
Riverside Theater
Thu, April 23

Hiss Golden Messenger
w/ Phil Cook (Megafaun)
High Noon Saloon
Thu, April 23 

Max Jury
w/ SALES,
Bonzie
The Frequency
Thu, April 23 

JAMES MCMURTRY
w/ Max Gomez
High Noon Saloon
Friday, April 24

Lord Huron
w/ Leon Bridges
Pabst Theater
Sat, April 25

Caroline Smith
w/ Vic and Gab
High Noon Saloon
Sat, April 25

Rhiannon Giddens
w/ Bhi Bhiman
Capitol Theater
Mon, April 27

Hurray For The
Riff Raff
w/ Daniel Romano
High Noon Saloon
Thu, April 30

Speedy Ortiz
w/ Krill, 
Two Inch Astronaut
The Frequency
Fri, May 1

The Replacements
w/ TBA
Eagles Ballroom (Milw)
Sat, May 2

Revelry Fest
w/ Chance the Rapper,
The Chainsmokers,
Alunageorge, Mick Jenkins,
Nick Hakim + More!
Library Mall
Sat, May 2 

Death Cab for Cutie
w/ The Antlers
Riverside Theater
Mon, May 4

Vetiver
w/ Eric D. Johnson
The Frequency
Thu, May 7

Bop English
(from White Denim)
w/ TBA
The Frequency
Fri, May 8

Pianos Become The Teeth
w/ Loma Prieta,
Gates
Cactus Club (Milw)
Fri, May 8

Tame Impala
w/ Mini Mansions
Riverside Theater
Thu, May 14

Dan Deacon
w/ Prince Rama,
Ben O’Brien
High Noon Saloon
Fri, May 15

METZ and FIDLAR
High Noon Saloon
Sat, May 23

Surfer Blood
w/ TBA
The Frequency
Sun, May 24

ST. VINCENT
w/ Sarah Neufeld
of Arcade Fire
Orpheum Theater
Tue, May 26

Built to Spill
w/ Wooden Indian
Burial Ground
High Noon Saloon
Tue, May 26

Archie Powell
& The Exports
w/ Heavy Looks,
Little Legend
The Frequency
Fri, May 29
 
Royal Blood
w/ Mini Mansions
High Noon Saloon
Sun, May 31

Father John Misty
w/ TBA
Pabst Theater
Sun, May 31

CJ Ramone 
& Shonen Knife
w/ TBA
Cactus Club (Milw)
Tues, June 9

Kate Tempest
w/ TBA
High Noon Saloon
Mon, Jun 15

Iceage
w/ Low Life
High Noon Saloon
Sun, Jun 21

Eaux Claires
Music & Arts Festival

feat. Bon Iver,
The National, Spoon, Sufjan Stevens
+ more
Foster Farms - Eau Claire
July 17 & 18

Connect with us

 twitterFacebookYouTubeInstagrampinterest

Sound Board

     Launch Indie Music Player Pop-Up

Foxygen

Revelry

Mumford & Sons

Music News Round-up

Merlyns
Alex Chilton
O'Cayz Corral