Rock of the Arts

... all indie, all the time

Home Reviews Interview: Von Bondies’ Guitarist Forms The Hounds Below

Interview: Von Bondies’ Guitarist Forms The Hounds Below

After ten years leading Detroit garage rockers the Von Bondies, guitarist Jason Stollsteimer saw an opportunity to move in a completely different direction with his new band The Hounds Below.

“I’m very proud of what I did with the Von Bondies, said Jason. “But this is what I’m doing now.”

Encompassing a sparse almost fifties-like early Elvis sound with a renewed emphasis on vocals reminiscent of Roy Orbison, the Hounds Below has emerged with a distinctively refreshing approach that is miles away from the Von Bondies.

“The Hounds Below is way more crooner oriented,” said Jason. “It’s a different kind of fun. I’m not as angry in this band. Maybe a little more sad and hopeful at the same time. In my old band it was angrier. I’m not angry anymore."

This September evening was the opening show of a three week national tour showcasing new material that will come out on a full length album come January. While the band may be new, the energy created on stage is pure adrenalin straight from the Von Bondies bag of tricks. From the alt-country infused rocker “Two Steps” to the haunting ballad “Crawling Back to You”, the five piece band demonstrated the diversity of Jason’s songwriting capabilities on a rock n’ roll canvas.

After the show I got to sit down with Jason Stollsteimer and talk about the Hounds Below. He was reluctant to talk directly about the Von Bondies, referring to them only as his “old band.” 

The Hounds Below

The Hounds Below 

The Hounds Below - Crawling Back to You

The Hounds Below - Two Step

The Hounds Below - Love's No Longer Here



Rock of the Arts

Club Crawl

Glass Animals
w/ Hinds
Orpheum Theatre
Tue, Oct. 6

Shitty Barn (Spring Green)
Wed, Oct. 7 (sold out!)

S (Jenn Ghetto)
w/ Fern Mayo,
The Frequency
Thurs,Oct. 8

Saint Motel
w/ The Greeting Committee
High Noon Saloon
Thurs, Oct. 8

w/ Yacht Club,
Dense City
@ Liquid
Fri, Oct. 9

Titus Andronicus
w/ Spider Bags, Baked
The Frequency
Sat, Oct 10 (sold out)

w/ Heavy Looks
Mickey's Tavern
Sat, Oct. 10 (Free!)

w/ Heat,
Fake Limbs
The Frequency
Sun, Oct. 11

w/ Geographer
Majestic Theatre
Sun, Oct. 11

w/ No Joy,
Sunflower Bean
Majestic Theatre
Tue, Oct. 13

w/ Trophy Dad
and Tarpaulin
The Sett-Union South
Wed, Oct. 14 (Free!)

Conor Oberst
w/ Larkin, Poe
& High Up
Barrymore Theatre
Fri, Oct. 16

Electric Six
w/ Yip Deceiver
High Noon Saloon
Sat, Oct. 17

Teen Daze
w/ Heavenly Beat,
Double Ewes
The Frequency
Sat, Oct. 17
w/ Torres
Orpheum Theater
Sun, Oct. 18
Youth Lagoon
w/ Moon King
Turner Hall (Milw)
Tues, Oct. 20

Neon Indian
w/ TBA
Majestic Theatre
Wed, Oct. 21

Grace Potter
w/ Rayland Baxter
Barrymore Theatre
Sat, Oct. 24

w/ Amanda X
Cactus Club (Milw)
Sat, Oct. 24
Of Montreal
w/ Diane Coffee
Majestic Theatre
Sun, Oct. 25

w/ Zebras,
Jon Mueller
High Noon Saloon
Sun, Oct. 25
w/ TBA
Majestic Theatre
Mon, Oct. 26
Shannon & the Clams
w/ Shopping, Orange Iguanas, The Pukes
The Frequency
Tue, Oct. 27

Wild Child
w/ Elliot Moss
Majestic Theatre
Wed, Oct. 28
w/ Say Hi,
Barbara Hans
The Frequency
Thu, Oct. 29

Dave Rawlings Machine
Capitol Theater
Fri, Oct. 30
Barrymore Theatre
Fri, Oct. 30

Mac DeMarco
w/ Alex Calder
& The Courtneys
Riverside Theater (Milw)
Fri, Nov. 6

Yo La Tengo (Acoustic)
feat. Dave Schramm
Barrymore Theatre
Fri, Nov. 6

w/ Cougar
Capitol Theater
Sat, Nov. 7

Drive-By Truckers
w/ Dexateens
Majestic Theatre
Sun, Nov. 15

w/ Car Seat Headrest
Trohpy Dad
The Frequency
Sat, Nov. 28

w/ Atlas Sound
Majestic Theatre
Tue, Dec. 15

Connect with us


Bandcamp Pick!

Sound Board

     Launch Indie Music Player Pop-Up

Russ Feingold

Music News Round-up

Alex Chilton
O'Cayz Corral