Rock of the Arts

... all indie, all the time

Mesa Amplifiers available at Cascio Interstate Music
Home Reviews

Milwaukee road trip with King Tuff, Cassie Ramone, Whips

King Tuff
Kyle Thomas aka King Tuff

Madison usually satisfies my craving for emerging independent touring acts, but every now and then a band bypasses us for no apparent reason. Tonight, I’m headed to the Cactus Club in Milwaukee to check out King Tuff and former Vivian Girl Cassie Ramone.

The Cactus Club reminds me of a slightly larger version of the Frequency in Madison, complete with a back room where the bands play. An added bonus is Club Garibaldi, a local music hangout and venue just down the street within walking distance.

Read more...
 

Pixies rule with Royal Blood!

Pixies

Maybe there is life after a reunion tour. I was leery of this Pixies show, having never seen them live back when grunge and flannel shirts were all the rage. Could they still be relevant without the nostalgia baggage? The band had recently released a new album for the first time in ten years erasing the stigma of the never ending reunion tour that hints of cashing in. Isn’t Kiss still on their final reunion tour that began in 1996?

Read more...
 

Sonny Knight and the Lakers create new sound from Twin Cities funk and soul past

Sonny Knight and The Lakers

Sonny Knight got more than he bargained for when he teamed up with some former members of the Minneapolis '60s soul institution the Valdons.

Read more...
 

Heaters forge psych-rock path from Michigan

Heaters

Heaters put the fun back in garage-rock, Michigan style, with reverb-infused guitars and surf elements. Like some kind of mutated take on Dancing with the Stars, the video for Mean Green sports some heavy gyrations. 

Read more...
 
  • «
  •  Start 
  •  Prev 
  •  1 
  •  2 
  •  3 
  •  4 
  •  5 
  •  6 
  •  7 
  •  8 
  •  9 
  •  10 
  •  Next 
  •  End 
  • »
Page 1 of 37

Rock of the Arts

Club Crawl

MisterWives
w/ BØRNS,
Handsome Ghost
High Noon Saloon
Wed, March 4 (sold out!)

Paper Diamond
w/ gLAdiator,
Louis Futon
Majestic Theatre
Wed, March 4

Reverend Horton Heat
w/ Ha Ha Tonka
High Noon Saloon
Fri, March 6

Lust for Youth
w/ TBA
Memorial Union
Fri, March 6 (Free!)

The Hussy,
Obnox,
Dumb Beach,
Proud Parents
Crystal Corner Bar
Sat, March 7

Helmet "Betty"
20th Anniversary Show
High Noon Saloon
Thur, March 12 (sold out!)

Swervedriver
w/ Gateway Drugs
High Noon Saloon
Fri, March 13

John Statz
w/ Kelsy Sprague,
Evan Murdock
Crystal Corner Bar
Sat, March 14

The King Khan & BBQ Show w/ Milk Lines, Cowboy Winter
High Noon Saloon
Sun, March 15

Alabama Shakes
w/ Promised Land Sound
Overture Hall
Tues, March 17

Filligar
w/ TBA
High Noon Saloon
Wed, March 18

CURSIVE
w/ Dylan Ryan Sand,
See Through Dresses
High Noon Saloon
Thurs, March 19

Tyranny Is Tyranny
w/ Knife the Symphony
& the Shanks
Mickey's Tavern
Fri, March 20 (Free!)

TV on the Radio
w/ Nostalghia
Pabst Theater
Tues, March 24

THE RASHITA JONESES w/ Filter Free Rodeo, Bron Sage, Spaceship Parts
The Frequency
Fri, March 27, 9:00 PM

CYMBALS EAT GUITARS
w/ Split Single
The Frequency
Mon, March 30

Bleachers
w/ Joywave,
Night Terrors of 1927
Majestic Theatre
Tue, March 31

Belle and Sebastian
w/ Honeyblood
Overture Hall
Sat, Apr 4

Ultimate Painting
w/ Heaters
The Frequency
Mon, April 6

Polica
w/ Pony Bwoy
Cactus Club (Milw)
Tues, April 7 (sold out!)

FOXYGEN
w/ Alex Cameron
The Sett - Union South
Fri, April 10 (Free!)

Joe Pug
w/ Field Report (solo)
High Noon Saloon
Fri, April 10

Reptar
w/ Icky Blossoms
The Frequency
Fri, April 10

Dolores
w/ Mutts,
Cowboy Winter
& Little Legend
High Noon Saloon
Sat, April 11

Twin Shadow
w/ Erik Hassle
Majestic Theatre
Tue, April 14

Kodak to Graph
w/ Big Wild,
Obeson
The Frequency
Wed, April 15

Chuck Prophet
& The Mission Express
High Noon Saloon
Wed, April 15

Shana Falana (NYC), 
w/ Modern Mod,
Oh My Love
Mickey's tavern
Thu, April 16 (Free!)

The Soft Moon
w/ TBA
The Frequency
Fri, April 17

PELE
w/ Golden Donna
Cactus Club (Milw)
Sat, April 18

Diarrhea Planet
w/ Lee Bains
& the Glory Fires,
Fire Retarded
High Noon Saloon
Wed, April 22

Hiss Golden Messenger
w/ Phil Cook (Megafaun)
High Noon Saloon
Thu, April 23 

Max Jury
w/ SALES
The Frequency
Thu, April 23 

JAMES MCMURTRY
w/ Max Gomez
High Noon Saloon
Friday, April 24

Lord Huron
w/ Leon Bridges
Pabst Theater
Sat, April 25

Caroline Smith
w/ Vic and Gab
High Noon Saloon
Sat, April 25

Rhiannon Giddens
w/ Bhi Bhiman
Capitol Theater
Mon, April 27

Hurray For The
Riff Raff
w/ Daniel Romano
High Noon Saloon
Thu, April 30

Speedy Ortiz
w/ Krill, 
Two Inch Astronaut
The Frequency
Fri, May 1

The Replacements
w/ TBA
Eagles Ballroom (Milw)
Sat, May 2

Dan Deacon
w/ Prince Rama,
Ben O’Brien
High Noon Saloon
Fri, May 15

METZ and FIDLAR
High Noon Saloon
Sat, May 23

ST. VINCENT
w/ Sarah Neufeld
of Arcade Fire
Orpheum Theater
Tue, May 26

Built to Spill
w/ Wooden Indian
Burial Ground
High Noon Saloon
Tue, May 26
 
Royal Blood
w/ Mini Mansions
High Noon Saloon
Sun, May 31

Eaux Claires
Music & Arts Festival

feat. Bon Iver,
The National, Spoon, Sufjan Stevens
+ more
Foster Farms - Eau Claire
July 17 & 18

Syndication

feed-image Feed Entries

Connect with us

 twitterFacebookYouTubeInstagrampinterest

Sound Board

     Launch Indie Music Player Pop-Up

SXSW

Mumford & Sons

Music News Round-up

Merlyns
Alex Chilton
O'Cayz Corral