Rock of the Arts

... all indie, all the time

PROTOMARTYER

Home

TORRES heats up FRZN Fest with Eternal Summers, Palehound and American Wrestlers stoking the fire

Mackenzie Scott of Torres at High Noon Saloon
Torres

FRZN Fest, the annual Madison nod to all things frigid, commenced on opening night with a bang. The four band line-up headlined by Torres was one of the stronger nights of the three-day festival.

Read more...
 

Interview: DUSK explores new territory for Tenement’s Amos Pitsch

DUSK
DUSK in Madison at the Frequency

DUSK is the new project from Amos Pitsch who is best known as the guitarist and songsmith for punkish Appleton, Wisconsin DIY rockers Tenement. We’ve been listening to the Bandcamp demo sessions from Dusk since January. Pitsch has always been a prolific songwriter as evidenced by Tenement’s recent critically acclaimed double LP. Dusk leans more soulful alternative country with a Byrds\Rolling Stones Sticky Fingers vibe. “Stones in your Casserole” is our favorite track from the demos and could be the kissin’ cousin of Mick Jagger and Keith Richards‘ “Dead Flowers.”

Read more...
 

Mitski/Palehound/PWR BTTM invade Madison

Mitski at The Frequency
Mitski

Mitski Miyawski brought her caravan of guitar-centric friends to Madison for an exceptionally strong bill that included Palehound and fellow New Yorkers PWR BTTM. Casting a spell over the audience with a commanding stage presence, Mitski stands confidently playing a bright pink Dean bass as her deeply personal lyrics pierce the humid club air. It’s like Mitski could burn a hole in the floor with her gaze. Focused and determined she engages the crowd.

Read more...
 

Madison’s Trophy Dad seeks redemption through Greek philosophers and house shows

Trophy Dad

Hypatia, the Greek mathematician/philosopher and Trichotillomania, the hair pulling disorder are not the usual subjects of a college indie-rock band song repertoire. Leave it to Madison upstarts Trophy Dad to keep the lyrics intriguing and the melodies accessible.

Read more...
 

Brooklyn experimental soloist Jonah Parzen-Johnson on Madison, gentrification and art collectives

Jonah Parzen-Johnson

Jonah Parzen-Johnson, the experimental instrumentalist who favors baritone sax and analog synthesizer, is visiting Madison for a second time this year. Johnson is touring behind a paperback Travelogue “Three Reasons To Live Here” that chronicles his road travels this past summer through the U.S. and Canada in support of his album Remember When Things Were Better Tomorrow. We caught up with him, via phone, somewhere in the vicinity of Cleveland, Ohio.

Read more...
 
  • «
  •  Start 
  •  Prev 
  •  1 
  •  2 
  •  3 
  •  4 
  •  5 
  •  6 
  •  7 
  •  8 
  •  9 
  •  10 
  •  Next 
  •  End 
  • »
Page 1 of 16

Rock of the Arts

Club Crawl

Martin Courtney
(of Real Estate)
w/ The Pollinators
Union South - The Sett
Sat, Feb. 6 (Free!)

Tarpaulin
w/ Fury Things
Dash Hounds
Mickey's Tavern (Free!)
Fri, Feb. 12

Dianne Coffee
w/ Barbara Hans
Union South - The Sett
Sat, Feb. 13 (Free!)

Metric
w/ Joywave
Orpheum Theater
Sat, Feb. 13

PROF
w/ Mike Mictlan,
Mac Irv, Crashprez
Majestic Theatre
Sat, Feb. 13

Rayland Baxter
w/ Margaret Glaspy
The Frequency
Sat, Feb. 13
 
Chris Bathgate
w/ The Go Rounds,
Anna Vogelzang
The Frequency
Sun, Feb. 14
 
The Hussy
w/ Trampoline Team,
Proud Parents
High Noon Saloon
Wed, Feb. 17

El Ten Eleven
w/ Shallow
Majestic Theatre
Thu, Feb. 18

Futurebirds
w/ Blank Range
High Noon Saloon
Thu, Feb. 18

Brett Newski
w/ Tiny Riots
The Frequency
Fri, Feb. 19

LIZZO
w/ DJ Sopia Eris
feat. Cavanaugh
Majestic Theatre
Fri, Feb. 19

Cloud Cult
Barrymore Theatre
Sat, Feb 20 
 
Jukebox the Ghost
w/ The Family Crest
Majestic Theatre
Tues, Feb. 23

Twin Peaks
w/ Uh Bones
The Frequency
Wed, Feb 24

Bongzilla
w/ Black Cobra,
Lo-Pan,
Against the Grain
High Noon Saloon
Fri, Feb 26 

Family and Friends
The Frequency
Fri, Feb 26

Dale Watson &
His Lone Stars
High Noon Saloon
Wed, March 2

Basia Bulat
w/ The Weather Station
High Noon Saloon
Wed, March 9

Tortoise
w/ Mind Over Mirrors
Majestic Theatre
Thu, March 10

Protomartyr
The Frequency
Sun, March 13

Mount Moriah
w/ Elephant Micah
High Noon Saloon
Sun, March 20

SIMO
w/ The Glorious Sons
High Noon Saloon
Thu, March 24

Cullen Omori
(of Smith Westerns)
w/ TBA
High Noon Saloon
Fri, March 25

Acid Mothers Temple
w/ Mounds, Moss Folk
The Frequency
Mon, March 28

The Lone Bellow
WI Union Theater
(Shannon Hall)
Wed, March 30

Yuck
w/ Big Thief
High Noon Saloon
Tue, April 5

LUCERO
w/ John Moreland
Majestic Theatre
Wed, April 6   

SunFlower Bean
w/ TBA
The Frequency
Wed, April 6

San Fermin
w/ Esme Patterson
High Noon Saloon
Wed, April 6

Deer Tick
(Acoustic Tour)
w/ Ryley Walker
Majestic Theatre
Fri, April 8
 
Made of Oak
(Nick Sanborn)
High Noon Saloon
Sat, April 9

Wolf Alice
w/ Slaves (UK)
Majestic Theatre
Sun, April 10
 
Polica
w/ Mothxr
High Noon Saloon
Thu, April 14
 
Bob Mould Band
w/ Fury Things
Majestic Theatre
Wed, April 20

Dengue Fever
High Noon Saloon
Wed, April 20
 
Woods
w/ Ultimate Painting
High Noon Saloon
Mon, April 25

Frankie Cosmos
w/ Eskimeaux,
Yowler
High Noon Saloon
Tue, April 26

Charles Bradley
& his Extraordinaires
Majestic Theatre
Sat, April 30

Syndication

feed-image Feed Entries

Connect with us

 twitterFacebookYouTubeInstagrampinterest

Twin Peaks

Lucero

Polica

The Smart Studios Story

Music News Round-up

Merlyns
Alex Chilton
O'Cayz Corral