Rock of the Arts

... all indie, all the time

Mesa Amplifiers available at Cascio Interstate Music
Home

The Rashita Joneses on fetishes and pet mosquitoes

The Rashita Joneses

A penchant for Parks and Recreation with songs about pet mosquitoes? Only Milwaukee garage rockers The Rashita Joneses could pull this off. The trio has melded together the perfect combination of guitars, wit and basement neophyte production for their first single "Mosquito."

The video is a rollicking fisheye lense view of a day in the life of the band, complete with input from the Tidy Bowl man and a trashed apartment that looks like the aftermath of party central. It's all part of the debut EP from the band due out in March.

Read more...
 

Interview: The return of Slow Loris with Pictures of Everything

Wes Doyle of Slow Loris has been a busy guy over the last five years. As an East Coast transplant to Madison, he put out two albums and an EP from 2010 to 2011, even challenging Zola Jesus at times for the local lo-fi recording crown. Utilizing a DIY bedroom studio technique that became a Slow Loris trademark, Wes has a knack for layered guitars and fuzz-induced hysteria.

Read more...
 

Milwaukee road trip with King Tuff, Cassie Ramone, Whips

King Tuff
Kyle Thomas aka King Tuff

Madison usually satisfies my craving for emerging independent touring acts, but every now and then a band bypasses us for no apparent reason. Tonight, I’m headed to the Cactus Club in Milwaukee to check out King Tuff and former Vivian Girl Cassie Ramone.

The Cactus Club reminds me of a slightly larger version of the Frequency in Madison, complete with a back room where the bands play. An added bonus is Club Garibaldi, a local music hangout and venue just down the street within walking distance.

Read more...
 

Anna Vogelzang on Wintersong and Second Harvest Foodbank

Anna Vogelzang

Folk songstress Anna Vogelzang had no idea a few original Christmas songs added to her set list at the now defunct Project Lodge several years ago would grow into such a large charity event. Wintersong hatched in true DIY fashion from a grassroots effort to celebrate Christmas and help those in need during the holiday season. 

With contributions from an array of local musician friends, Anna is now spearheading the effort to bring the festive giving spirit of Wintersong to the Barrymore Theatre on Saturday, December 13th. This year’s lineup includes Madison musicians Count This Penny, Corey Hart, Paul Otteson & Faux Fawn, Whitney Mann, Crane Your Swan Neck, and Dietrich Gosser. All donations benefit Second Harvest Foodbank of Southern Wisconsin. Anna took some time out from her hectic schedule to talk about the upcoming show.

Read more...
 

Dolores picks up PHOX among new fans

Dolores

A funny thing happened to Dolores after their first club gig at the High Noon Saloon in October. They got popular. Within two weeks of the High Noon Saloon show, Dolores was opening for Australian psychsters POND and picking up a slew of new fans in the process.

Read more...
 
  • «
  •  Start 
  •  Prev 
  •  1 
  •  2 
  •  3 
  •  4 
  •  5 
  •  6 
  •  7 
  •  8 
  •  9 
  •  10 
  •  Next 
  •  End 
  • »
Page 1 of 11

Rock of the Arts

Club Crawl

CAKES da Killa
w/ UNiiQU3
The Sett - Union South
Thu, Feb. 26 (Free!)

Lotus
w/ Turbo Suit
Orpheum Theater
Fri, Feb. 27

MisterWives
w/ BØRNS,
Handsome Ghost
High Noon Saloon
Wed, March 4 (sold out!)

Paper Diamond
w/ gLAdiator,
Louis Futon
Majestic Theatre
Wed, March 4

Reverend Horton Heat
w/ Ha Ha Tonka
High Noon Saloon
Fri, March 6

Lust for Youth
w/ TBA
Memorial Union
Fri, March 6 (Free!)

Helmet "Betty"
20th Anniversary Show
High Noon Saloon
Thur, March 12 (sold out!)

Swervedriver
w/ Gateway Drugs
High Noon Saloon
Fri, March 13

The King Khan & BBQ Show w/ Milk Lines, Cowboy Winter
High Noon Saloon
Sun, March 15

Alabama Shakes
w/ Promised Land Sound
Overture Hall
Tues, March 17

Filligar
w/ TBA
High Noon Saloon
Wed, March 18

CURSIVE
w/ Dylan Ryan Sand,
See Through Dresses
High Noon Saloon
Thurs, March 19

TV on the Radio
w/ TBA
Pabst Theater
Tues, March 24

THE RASHITA JONESES w/ Filter Free Rodeo, Bron Sage, Spaceship Parts
The Frequency
Fri, March 27, 9:00 PM

CYMBALS EAT GUITARS
w/ Split Single
The Frequency
Mon, March 30

Bleachers
w/ Joywave,
Night Terrors of 1927
Majestic Theatre
Tue, March 31

Belle and Sebastian
w/ Honeyblood
Overture Hall
Sat, Apr 4

Ultimate Painting
w/ Heaters
The Frequency
Mon, April 6

Polica
w/ PonyBwoy
Cactus Club (Milw)
Tues, April 7 (sold out!)

FOXYGEN
w/ Alex Cameron
The Sett - Union South
Fri, April 10 (Free!)

Joe Pug
w/ Field Report (solo)
High Noon Saloon
Fri, April 10

Reptar
w/ Icky Blossoms
The Frequency
Fri, Apr 10

Twin Shadow
w/ Erik Hassle
Majestic Theatre
Tue, April 14

Kodak to Graph
w/ Big Wild,
Obeson
The Frequency
Wed, April 15

Chuck Prophet
& The Mission Express
High Noon Saloon
Wed, April 15

The Soft Moon
w/ TBA
The Frequency
Fri, April 17

PELE
w/ Golden Donna
Cactus Club (Milw)
Sat, April 18

Diarrhea Planet
w/ Lee Bains
& the Glory Fires,
Fire Retarded
High Noon Saloon
Wed, April 22 

Max Jury
w/ SALES
The Frequency
Thu, April 23 

JAMES MCMURTRY
High Noon Saloon
Friday, April 24

Caroline Smith
w/ Vic and Gab
High Noon Saloon
Sat, April 25

Rhiannon Giddens
w/ Bhi Bhiman
Capitol Theater
Mon, April 27

Hurray For The
Riff Raff
w/ Daniel Romano
High Noon Saloon
Thu, April 30

Speedy Ortiz
w/ Krill, 
Two Inch Astronaut
The Frequency
Fri, May 1

The Replacements
w/ TBA
Eagles Ballroom (Milw)
Sat, May 2

Dan Deacon
w/ TBA
High Noon Saloon
Fri, May 15

METZ and FIDLAR
High Noon Saloon
Sat, May 23

ST. VINCENT
w/ Sarah Neufeld
of Arcade Fire
Orpheum Theater
Tue, May 26
 
Royal Blood
w/ Mini Mansions
High Noon Saloon
Sun, May 31

Eaux Claires
Music & Arts Festival

feat. Bon Iver,
The National, Spoon, Sufjan Stevens
+ more
Foster Farms - Eau Claire
July 17 & 18

Syndication

feed-image Feed Entries

Connect with us

 twitterFacebookYouTubeInstagrampinterest

Sound Board

     Launch Indie Music Player Pop-Up

SXSW

Music News Round-up

Merlyns
Alex Chilton
O'Cayz Corral